11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have used this recipe for years, and although I'm not a great cook, it's an appetizer I can always count on. It's delicious, and my friends always rave about it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jofranc July 27, 2013

I've been making this recipe for years. I make it exactly as described, and eveyone loves it. My daughter likes to take a small container of it (with crackers in a separate container) in her school lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeuxLumieres September 13, 2012

Used food processor; pulsed enough to get a smooth paste. Used walnuts. My husband and I couldn't get enough of it! Delicious. Thanks for sharing, Mandabears!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsK June 11, 2009

I, too, have used this recipe for years. Quick, easy and delicious. It does need to sit for a few hours to thicken up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski February 10, 2009

This was easy and delicious. I did add 1/2 tsp. of onion powder to boost the flavour a bit. I used this as filling for small cocktail sandwiches. It was a hit. I would suggest making this at least a day ahead so that the flavours have an opportunity to develop.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Regina V. Smith February 09, 2009

I absolutely love this olive spread.. perfect for entertaining or just to enjoy yourself.. I only put 1 Tablespoon olive juice to lessen the "saltiness" and I added some red onion! Great recipe.. thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcLeon December 29, 2007

Yum! My MIL makes this nearly every Christmas and this year she decided not to. I missed having it on the appy table so I decided to whip up a batch myself. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe as I have no idea where my copy went. I used chopped pecans, and made it the day before serving to let the flavors blend. Delicious! Nick's Mom

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. December 29, 2007

Count me in with the folks who find, lose and find this recipe. I thoroughly enjoy this indulgent spread. I made this for the hospitality table at our local Science Fair and now I have to hand the recipe out to the teachers. They loved it! Thanks for posting it, Mandabears!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meccatx May 16, 2007

I, too, lost my recipe for this spread and even tried to make it this morning from memory before I took the time to look at Zaar. It's also great to use as stuffing for a celery stick appetizer. Thanks!! This is an update my previous review to add the rating!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ninja November 25, 2005

Served this last night with toasted french bread and some raw veggies to go with our minestrone. We're real olive eaters and we both enjoyed it--notice the leftovers are gone from the refirigerator today--assume DH took to for his lunch at work! Guess I'll be making more soon! Thank You.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickie49 November 13, 2005
Heloise's Olive Nut Spread