82 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My very favorite cookie to make! The yellow cake mix makes the best cookies. I have given this recipe out many, many times over the years. Everyone is surprised that a recipe this simple could be so good. ~Audrey~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a_spells April 06, 2009

Great recipe! I am so glad to have this idea in my head so whenever I need to make quick cookies and have a cake mix, I am good to go! I used an orange supreme cake mix that I had bought for something and didn't use. I iced them with vanilla buttercream icing and they were great! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef_Irion March 24, 2009

I made these on a day when I was craving cookies, but didn't feel like driving to the bakery, or making a mess in the kitchen. I admit I was skeptical about the cake mix factor, but wow, these were great. I used triple chocolate cake mix, and they were super moist and delicious. It took about ten minutes from opening the cake mix to pulling the cookies out of the oven. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bethy Boo March 07, 2009

these are always so soft! tonight was chocolate cake mix with white chips but I have had lemon with powered sugar which are great! thanks just the recipe I was looking for!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amymhillaz February 25, 2009

Wow! without a doubt this made some of the best cookies ever. I used a Butter Pecan cake mix and included the chopped pecans. Mine baked for 13 mins on convection @ 325F and couldn't have turned out more perfect. They are crisp but not hard and the center has a chewy soft toohfullness that is so favored in this house. Simple with a capital S, I had 30 large beautiful cookies in almost no time. If you make these you won't have them around for long!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia January 23, 2009

These are oaky. A fast, easy recipe for sure...but not nearly as good as a real, homemade cookie. Was a way to experiment with cake mixes but I'll stick to making cakes with them and make cookies the old fashioned way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sher440 January 22, 2009

Made this several times and have forgotten to post a review until now. The cookies are just delicious and so easy to assemble. I often do half batches and have done a range of combinations; today's was a double fudge cake mix with peppermint extract and chocolate chips and crushed peppermints. Thanks Marg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni December 30, 2008

This was exactly what I needed this morning!! I was taking lunch over to our friends that are moving and I needed a quick, easy, delious cookie recipe. And one that I had all of the ingredients for! I found this one and it was perfect. I made one batch of orange cookies drizzled with an orange glaze and one batch of chocolate with white and semi sweet chips. They were so good. This is now my favorite cookie recipe. I can hardly wait to try some of the other flavors. Thanks for sharing!! Melissa

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsGeorge December 26, 2008

Yummy cookies! I have used all kinds of cake mixes with this recipe and all are good.... most recently, I made this with the rainbow chip kind of cake mix for my dd. :) Very good! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Radish4ever December 23, 2008

Excellent recipe! I erroneously first reviewed Cake Mix Cookies instead of this one. Normally I like to try the earliest version of a recipe on 'zaar as the duplicates make for more work when sifting through recipes. These cookies are wonderful with 3/4-1 cup of chips. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dogsandwoods November 19, 2008
Heloise's Cake Mix Cookies