84 Reviews

I am upgrading to five stars. Just made again - this time with lemon mix. This is a spectacular recipe because it is the easiest ever and the possibilities are endless. I baked them 2 minutes longer than recommended and kept them smaller sothey got a little more crispy around the edges. Going to frost them up with plain vanillla frosting. Will add lemon peel next time. Have also tried chocolate with mini chips - wonderful. Previous review --Made with spice cake mix, walnuts and toffee bits. This one is as easy as it gets. Was worried that they might be a bit too cakey, but they firmed up nicely and did have a little crispness on the outside after cooling. Will try again with some of the other combinations suggested by other reviewers. Thanks for a super easy, very versatile recipe that will become a go-to. :] Another one - used white mix, about 1 tsp almond extract, then added coconut and dark chocolate chips. Sort of like a macaroon, or an Almond Joy. Mmmmm.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 May 11, 2011

Wow! So easy & delish! I used store-brand white cake mix and a couple of tsps of almond extract. Formed mixture into balls, dipped in sugar and topped with a small cluster of slivered almonds. Taste & texture just right: delightful!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jay3fer March 27, 2009

These are SOO simple and versatile. My favorite combo so far is orange cake mix with white chips (Creamsicle!) but I also thought that the funfetti cake mix worked well as did the butter pecan.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
josephinewillis December 27, 2006

Updated. I read a Heloise column that talked about mixing the add-ins and cake mix together first. Then mix eggs and oil together, adding to dry ingredients last. I tried it and they came out better. While I love scratch, it's great to be able to whip up something fast. Red velvet or chocolate with while chocolate chips. Yummy!,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pdxrose April 21, 2014

Love this recipe! So far we have made white cakes mix cookies with chocolate chips and pecans and milk chocolate cake mix cookies with honey roasted peanuts. Today, we're trying lemon cake mix with white chocolate chips. And then Triple Chocolate Fudge with peanuts. Clearly, it's a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Beth December 22, 2013

Just made some with Devil's Food cake mix and Andes mint chocolates. I call them Gooey Mint Chocolate cookies. Delicious combination!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaeliel December 08, 2011

In a pinch these work great. I've made Chocolate Crinkles (chocolate mix rolled in confectioners sugar), Sugar Cookies with sprinkles (yellow cake mix with sprinkles mix in and rolled in sprinkles), and Funfetti. They all have worked nicely and are popular with children and with adults who like more simple foods.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaGun October 17, 2009

Easy, Easy and very good. I added a bit of almond extract - just because I like it - and mixed in M&M's. Huge hit with DH and kids as well as babysitter! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakingMissy June 12, 2009

This was just what i was looking for! i wanted to make cookie sandwiches for valentines day,and i found this recipe...I used a red velvet cake mix for one batch and a strawberry cake mix for another batch.I made them really small so it wouldn't be too much with two cookies and frosting, so i only baked them for about 5-6 minutes and they turned out perfect. I spread cream cheese frosting between them and they sure were a hit! Very festive for my valentine!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abbilyn February 08, 2008

Simple, easy and versatile. This recipe suits everyone from pros to beginners like me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ammie S. April 26, 2016
Heloise's Cake Mix Cookies