9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the same recipe my family has made for as long as I can remember. (I'm 77) Love it! We like to use White Rose potatoes, boiled, cooled, then skinned. Good with skins on too. I sometimes use dill pickle juice for the vinegar. Have never written it down, so great to see it posted.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NanaD February 23, 2012

This recipe is a family favorite! I found it on the back of a jar of Hellmanns. I used it for my son's 1st birthday party ~ He is now 30 years old!! We have used this recipe all these years for every family party! Wouldn't think of using any other, because this is the best!! Make sure you always use Helmanns mayo thought ~ I used the store brand once and it came out runny and didn't taste as good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaniceM. July 03, 2011

Really nice potato salad that is easy and takes little time to make. I used apple cider vinegar and only about 3/4 of a teaspoon of salt for us. Served the potato salad with lazyme's A&w Chili Dog Copycat #321719 and DH was very happy with supper tonight! Thank you aHardDaysNight for sharing your families favorite recipe with us. Made and reviewed for Pick A Chef - Spring 2009.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 May 01, 2009

Decent recipe, but can be improved by adding pitted sliced black olives and a small jar of drained pimentoes. Talk about some comfort food!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
terriawilliams March 24, 2015

I got this recipe from the Hellmann's website last night to make with some dutch oven smoked chicken. It was fantastic!<br/>I did add a drizzle more vinegar and a sprinkle more sugar because I thought it needed a little more zip. I also didn't have celery on hand, but I will add it next time! Definitely include the hard boiled eggs - they take it to the next level :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Portugarians January 10, 2015

This is absolutely delicious! I would not do a thing differently! I chopped the celery on the small side. I also used vidalia onion and soaked it in water to remove the sharp bite. After chilling the salad overnight, for an extra pretty salad, add a third hard-boiled egg, slice in nice rounds and add it on top for garnish before serving. Sprinkle with a little paprika.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ICookItsWhatIDo September 04, 2011

This is the same recipe my Mom used to make. I haven't had this in a long time and I was craving it. I used bread and butter pickles instead of the celery by personal choice. Made for PAC 2011 Spring.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn March 26, 2011

Have been using this recipe for the last 15 years. It always comes out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rmsaturn July 03, 2010

Easy and good. Next to my Mom's "dump" recipe I will never figure out, this is the only recipe we use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flightnurse May 02, 2009
Hellmann's the Original Potato Salad