8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This worked out great for a subsitution for Hellman's mayo! I was quite impressed with the results, I added in a bit more sugar than called for, and am considering using this on a regular basis, or mixing the real stuff and the homemade for a budget stretcher. I was a bit leary of leaving it on the counter overnight, but I guess the lemon did it's job! thanks for another winner CL! Kitten:)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen January 17, 2005

This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur. It was featured as a Limited Time Only recipe on topsecretrecipes.com

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tsrweb October 13, 2004

I love love this stuff thank you very much for posting will make again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Laurachingo June 18, 2012

I adapted the recipe to be much healthier but I give it 5-Stars. I used 2 egg yolks from Free-Range Organic Hens, No Hormones/No Antiobiotics. I used Celtic Sea Salt rather than the mineral depleted regular table salt. Instead of sugar, I used organic raw Agave nectar. Instead of Vegetable, Soy or Canola Oil (Canola oil is F-A-R from being healthy, read about it in The 150 Healthiest Fods o Earth, Dr. Johnny Bowden)...I used Organic Walnut Oil. (it has a very neutral flavor). Instead of the wisk, I used my vitamix for blending as I streamed in the oil. I also chilled the oil for an hour before making it. Cold oil makes a big difference. What I got was a very healthy version of mayo that tasted as close to Hellman's as I think I'll ever get. Next time I'm going to add a little cayenne pepper and some garlic. But, great base recipe for me. Kudos to you and BIG Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DocT February 28, 2009

1) Far too little sugar and salt to pass as a Hellman's copycat. 2) Use a blender. There's really no way to whip it properly without your arm falling off. Use the blender before retorting that a whip can do anything a blender can, because it can't with mayo. Otherwise hard to screw up mayo really, just balance with acid/salt/sugar to taste and serve.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff #631750 February 25, 2009

Thank you! I use very little mayo in my day to day and hate buying it knowing most will not be used. This is perfect for me. Ingredients I have on hand and just enough for what I need.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ala-kat November 05, 2008

I've looked far and near for a homemade mayonnaise that will please my husband, he always says "It's not Hellmann's" so I made this and put it in an empty Hellmann's squeeze bottle. This afternoon he made himself a sandwich and was none the wiser. I asked if he enjoyed his lunch and he said he did. It was hard to keep from snickering as he went back to his office.O.K., I'm just a little evil for not telling him.;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MAMASARAH January 24, 2008

i followed this recipe to the T and it turned out GREAT, i used this instead of the store-bought variety and nobody noticed a difference. Definitely a keeper. The off-white colour seems to whiten somewhat when refrigerated for a few days later.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef_Shabby September 26, 2006
HELLMANN'S (COPYCAT) MAYONNAISE