Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Helen's Zucchini Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Helen's Zucchini Casserole

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2002

      I liked this recipe. This is a tasty recipe with lots of flavour. I used rather over sized Zucchinies. I followed that recipe step by step except for the size of the zuchinies. The only think that I found was the there was a rather a large amount of liquid, which I might add was very tasty. This may have been due to the size of the zucchini. I will make this recipe again, however, I will make sure that the zucchini is meduim size. Thank you for posting this recipe Helen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2002

      What a wonderful recipe!!This reminds me of lasagne!!I am thrilled I found this recipe!I used an assortment of cheeses....mozzerella,chedder and parmesan and for the Italian season I used dry Italian salad dressing mix!!Yumm,Yum!Great recipe!I will make this one again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2002

      To: Kelly Canfield Your Zuke Casserole is ever so yummy!! Definitely easy to put together. I added cubed cooked chicken (left over) and made a dandy meal for the two of us. You have a big winner here and I surely thank you for posting. Laudee C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2002

      Great recipe,Kelly. My husband and daughter loved it, and our son in law, who rarely eats anything "green" (and doesn't like zucchini) pronounced it very good. The flavors were wonderful. I did use freshly-made tomato sauce with Roma tomatoes I'd picked the day before. Thanks for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2002

      Yum! A five star in my book! No small zucchini's at the grocer today, so I made due with the large. Like ChrissyO, I had a substantial amount of liquid. I just turned up the heat to boil some of it off, which it started to do rather rapidly. But I stopped short of boiling too much off, thinking maybe that's just how it's supposed to be. I added the tomato sauce and herbs, and finished the recipe as written. Since the zucchini was large, I also cut them in half lengthwise. I may turn this into a main dish next time by layering cooked diced chicken. Thanks for sharing this, Kelly Canfield! --Ginny

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      So easy, and so tasty I had four servings! We added a couple cups of sliced mushrooms that we had on hand, used pasta sauce instead of tomato sauce, used plain salt instead of garlic salt, used oregano instead of a spice blend, and used goats milk cheddar instead of mozzarella.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      I loved this recipe! Very simple to make. Even my significant other who is very skeptical about zucchini, liked it. I used a can of diced tomatoes. Next time, I will add a little bit of red pepper flakes for the kick. Thanks for sharing :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      YUMMO. I added ground beef to this and my family loved it. Served it with caesar salad just like we would with lasagna. I wish it would give zuchinni portion in cups as size of zuchinni is so relative. Thanks for this great recipe. My DH asked me to make sure I kept this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      Pretty darn good, and a nice way to use the glut of zucchini from my garden. The only change I made was kicking up the spices. I had no problem with the result being too soupy, but I drained it pretty well. I did find that the onions were a little underdone, and the zucchini a little overdone, so I think next time I'll partially saute the onions alone before throwing the rest in. I'll probably add some TVP or white beans to add more protein too. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Delic, I added mushrooms because I was a little short on zucchini and loved it. Very nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      Tasty way to help use up zucchini! Very lasagna-like. I added some textured vegetable protein (TVP) as we're vegetarians, it would also help soak up an excess juice if your zucchini is larger too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      Pretty good. I think the best part was the cheese and the tomato sauce on the zucchini. I'd probably put more cheese on this and use a spicier sauce. Even though I drained it, it still was pretty soup-y. We served it in bowls with saltine crackers and it went great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2003

      I followed the recipe exactly, until i got to the part where it said bake in the oven. i put it in the microwave for 5 min.(it was too hot to heat the oven) It turned out just great!I used the salad shooter to slice the zucchini. The sauce just gave it the right touch. I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2003

      I am a big zucchini fan, but my husband has never been a believer. When I saw him clean his plate, not once but of three servings of Helen's Zucchini Casserole, I knew this recipe was a definite keeper in my house! I used a nice, medium sized zucchini for this recipe and ended up using all of 3 cups of shredded mozzarella. I did add some salt and pepper to taste, but other than that, did not change the recipe. Absolutely deicious! Thank you, Kelly, for a wonderful new side! Now I can have my zucchini, and Dan'l will eat it too! ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2014

      Really delicious! I love the way the zucchini stands out in this recipe! I think I've always added too much tomato sauce when making other versions of this and the zucchini kind of gets lost. I halved the recipe and used 3 smallish/med. zuchs. and marinara instead of tomato sauce. I assembled this to have ready for dinner and then life happened and we didn't get around to baking it for two days and it tstill turned out perfect. Not watery or mushy like I was afraid of. We loved this! Thanks for sharing this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      This is delicious - tastes just like pizza!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2013

      I made this recipe last night. I used zucchini and yellow squash from my garden. This recipe is fantastic! My kids and husband loved it. We had no leftovers. Thanks for sharing the recipe! My kids are already begging me to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2013

    • on February 21, 2013

      Just delicious thank you. Kids who normally refuse to eat zucchini loved it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      Well, add another 5-star review to this one! This was great, I really enjoyed it. I pretty much followed the recipe but from reading other reviews, I used canned tomatoes instead of the fresh and the can of tomato sauce. Plus, I had a lot of red peppers laying around so roasted and cut one up and added it, too. Before I put it in the oven I added a bit of cracker crumbs on top for crunch. I liked this almost better the next day! Thanks for posting, KeyWee, I really like this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Helen's Zucchini Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (255 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 142.2
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    53%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 22.1 mg
    7%
    Sodium 339.0 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites