Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Helen's Hungarian Coleslaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Helen's Hungarian Coleslaw

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 01, 2003

      What a wonderful tribute to your mother!! This is very similar to the one that my own mom makes - but I always guessed at the quantities as she never measures. Next time, I'll use red wine vinegar to make the dressing a tad sweeter. Thanx for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      This is by far the best cole slaw we have ever had! My husband is pretty picky about his coleslaw. His family is Hungarian, so I decided to give this one a try, and we all loved it! I did add just a touch of paprika to it (can't have anything Hungarian without paprika in it!) We even like the dressing so much, we're going to make a batch for regular salad dressing, too! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      This was a delicous coleslaw -- I'll be using your mother's recipe exclusively. I had to omit the onions as some guests have an aversion, and I added 2 tsp. of Old Bay Seasoning as I like the celery seed flavoring in my slaws. Thank you for posting, Box O'Wine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      Instead of a small onion, I used scallions, but followed the directions otherwise. We loved this recipe. DH said it was the best he'd tasted in a long time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      Lovely slaw and I'm honored that you shared your mother's recipe! I recently lost my own mother and am waiting for her recipe collection to arrive from across the country to my grateful arms. They are invaluable to me and I can't wait to share a few at Zaar. As for this recipe, I used white wine vinegar instead of the cider vinegar and added 1 tbsp lemon juice because I like the tang. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2005

      Exactly what I like my cole slaw to taste like! Thank you so much for sharing your dear mothers recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2005

      This was very delicious and easy to put together. I followed the directions exactly, and then I added some drained pineapple tidbits. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2004

      I made this with dinner last night. I grew up in a Jersey mill town with a bunch of Hungarian neighbors and this is exactly how I remember it tasting. I did substitute Splenda for the sugar to help my lo-carb diet. Whole family says thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2003

      Wonderful recipe. I made this recipe for the Comfort Food Cookathon and it was a hit. I brought it to work, along with two other Comfort Food Recipes, for a buffet at work. Directions were easy to follow. I didn't have to use all the dressing, I added it slowly and kept stirring it in. I'm sure that it will vary depending on the size of the cabbage. Thank you so much for sharing your mother's wonderful recipe. Many of the employees asked for a copy of this recipe. Your recipe was, one of three selections I made and prepared from "Zaar" Comfort Food and this cole slaw was also gone in ten minutes!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2003

      This is a Excellent cole slaw! It's exactly the type of cole slaw I was looking for, it has the perfect ingredients and was easy to make. I really like the part where you put the cabbage in a colander and sprinkle with salt and let it drain for a while, it sure solves the problem of the liquid in the bottom of your cole slaw. Thanks so much to your mom for such a wonderful recipe and to you for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Helen's Hungarian Coleslaw

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 238.4
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    51%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 11.6 mg
    3%
    Sodium 1092.4 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 17.2 g
    68%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes