Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Heidesand (My Famous Sugar Cookies) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Heidesand (My Famous Sugar Cookies)

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2003

      Very good sugar cookie. I made them with real butter. They have a nice texture, too. I got exactly 4 dozen out of this recipe and used my 1-inch cookie scoop (I love that thing). A little refrigeration was necessary in order to easily form the dough balls. I rolled the dough in sanding sugar before baking. Those big sugar crystals really made the cookies look nice. I baked them at 325° for about 12 minutes because I used a convection oven. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2002

      I'm in LOVE.....These are exactly what I was looking for, soft on the inside, sugary and crispy on the outside. I got 5 dozen and I baked them 8 minutes. I used margarine but can imagine the richness if butter is used. The last pan is still in the oven but I ha to sit down and type this......THESE ARE HEAVEN SENT!!!Thank you angel...ReeLani!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      These have to be the richest sugar cookies I've ever tasted! I did use real butter and they almost taste more like a butter cookie than the light, delicate sugar cookies that I am used to. I rolled in a cinnamon/sugar mixture which worked perfectly. I prepared a little larger than the directions called for and got a total of 2 dozen. Delicious! Thank you, ReeLani!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2004

      Great cookies with a rich sweet flavor. I used colored sugar for christmas time and they went very quickly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2003

      Tried these last year for the first time and will continue to make them every year. They absolutely melt in your mouth! I've gotten so many good comments and 3-year-old loves to dip them in the colored sugar. Of all the cookies I make at Christmas, he askes for these the most. THANK YOU for giving my family a new tradition!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2003

      I used margarine and after baking thought they were just okay. They seem to be crumbley. I put them in a container and after dinner my husband had a few....well, he commented how good they were. So I had another one,they were really good. Softened up but not too much and they aren't that sweet. They would be a great cookie with tea. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe. Going to be a staple in this household!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2003

      An excellent cookie which I will certainly make again. I consider these a butter cookie rather than a sugar cookie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      Great project to do with the kiddies. They had a blast rolling them in sugar.

      We made ours a little bigger and probably got about 2 dozen.

      My kids went a little crazy with the sprinkles, would definitely prefer it with less sugar but thought they were very tasty. Would be great to do around Christmas time with red and green sprinkles. TFS.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      Very very yummy :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      These are great -- I love to bake, but am not a big cookie eater -- have gotten rave reviews from everyone that has tried them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      I used this recipe to make a homemade mint milano sandwich cookies. They were awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      ehh, it was okk. nothinnnnnnnnnnnggg special! Im still in the market for a better recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Love the tang in these sugar cookies from the cream of tartar - these cookies baked up crisply for me. I did not chill my dough; I flattened some, but not all. Like Karen, I made 1 inch balls using a cookie scoop and got 50 cookies from this recipe. These were a huge hit on my cookie tray this year (2008)! *Update: I asked my son which cookies he wanted me to make for Christmas this year and the only one he wanted was this one!! (2009)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      This is identical to my mother's recipe, ALWAYS my favorite! Sadly it is not appreciated by my family members, who prefer soft, not crisp, cookies (yuck!) I have found that 1/2 butter and 1/2 high quality margarine gives a good flavor without the cookies going flat, as they do with all butter. Mom chilled the whole bowl of dough, then scooped it with a teaspoon, dipped the blob on the spoon into the sugar, then slid it sugar side up onto the cookie sheet---saves all that rolling and looks just as nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      Thank you for a great tasting cookie. Really nice flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Thanks to my great cookie swap partner, Kim D., I got to taste these great cookies that I've been meaning to try for ages. I loved them so much I decided to make them for my Christmas trays. I chilled my dough overnight. When the dough is chilled, I suggest flattening a bit before baking. However, after my dough was out for awhile, it didn't need flattening because they spread much more. So, if chilled: flatten/not chilled:leave in balls, IMO. I did roll mine into 1 inch balls and got 50 cookies out of the batch. I rolled in colored sugars and they came out looking great. In my oven, these needed 9 1/2 minutes for a perfect crisp edge and softer middle. Thanks for sharing your famous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Very nice flavor and easy to do. The cookies are soft and crispy on the edges. My DH really likes them. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

    • on April 08, 2008

      I forgot to rate these! I made them at X-Mas and they were very good. One batch I rolled in (red) sugar and flattened. The second, I just dipped the tops and didn't flatten, and we liked those better. Crispy on the outside and soft in the middle. Very pretty, thank-you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      Just delicious. The kids got to have fun rolling them in sugar and flattening them. I baked one batch on an ungreased cookie sheet and they stuck a little bit but, otherwise, perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Heidesand (My Famous Sugar Cookies)

    Serving Size: 1 (814 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1220.4
     
    Calories from Fat 575
    47%
    Total Fat 63.9 g
    98%
    Saturated Fat 39.5 g
    197%
    Cholesterol 224.6 mg
    74%
    Sodium 1384.3 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 149.7 g
    49%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 69.4 g
    277%
    Protein 13.5 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes