Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Heavy on the Garlic Hummus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Heavy on the Garlic Hummus

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2008

      Delish. I can't say anything that hasn't already been said before. I look forward to making this again, though I think I'll cut the cumin down to 2 t.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      Excellent! I only roughly chopped the garlic, and the processor did the rest. similarly, instead of mincing the parsley, I just put it in the centre of the processor after the rest was done and gave it a couple of pulses. I also added a bit more lemon juice, and maybe a bit more garlic (I didn't really measure it). For the water, I ended up using 1/8 cup for a half recipe of hummus.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      Did not care for this recipe. It was too lemony for me, not enough garlic. I found a store bought we love for garlic lovers, hoped this would save us some money. This just didnt do the trick by not being garlicky enough. I had hoped it was going to be good, it makes a ton, and I paid over $5 for the jar of tahini, hate to throw it out...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Oh yum thank you i subbed for the tahini paste, 1/2 cup toasted sesame seeds and 2 teaspoon peanut oil. and then 3 cups of garbanzos i just cooked up from dried. rather than canned. i ate right away and fell in love.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Luby you never fail to amaze. This is the best hummus I've ever had. I didn't have parsley on hand but everything else I did was per the recipe. Man, was that ever good! Thank you! UPDATE: This time I roasted 3 heads of garlic and threw them into the mix instead of raw and OMG!!! Do yourself a favor and take the extra time to roast your garlic, it is the best damned hummus you'll ever eat ~ no pita necessary!!! Luby, you rule

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      This is absolutely FABULOUS! Every time I make this hummus, it gets rave reviews by all guests. Today, I'm planning to make this for our Mother's Day gathering tomorrow and am going to use 1 whole head of roasted garlic in place of the minced. Super recipe! I serve it with Pita Chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      This was great, made as directed except I subbed black pepper for white. Will certainly make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      Wonderful and easy to change according to personal tastes! I use 1/4 cup tahini paste in mine and sometimes I add some roasted red pepper. Great to have in the fridge as a quick snack with baby carrot sticks! Add more oil or water if it dries out the next day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2005

      WOW!! This is addictive. The only mistake I made was to put a little too much garlic in my second batch and I had to add more of everything else. Next time I will taste after adding about 1/2 the garlic, then again after I add each clove.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2004

      Very very good. I love garlic, and I love spicy stuff. This recipe gives both, just the right combination I like. As said over in forum, I used potato ???. Came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2003

      Hi Lubby, I never had eaten Hummus before,and heard my daughter Paula talking about how she loved it,so I looked on recipezaar,and sure enough there it was.So I made it for her after going to an oriental store in Carbondale,and getting the Tahini Paste. Well!!! she was so impressed,and just raved about it. Thanks for a great recipe,that made my daughter VERY happy! Darlene Summers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Heavy on the Garlic Hummus

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 382.1
     
    Calories from Fat 195
    51%
    Total Fat 21.7 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 838.5 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 8.5 g
    34%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites