66 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Everything Bayhill says about this bread recipe is true. Smells great while baking, and tastes delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers March 25, 2011

I just finished baking this bread and it smells so good! I did not bake mine in the bread machine since I like it better from the oven. The only changes I made were to use brown sugar in place of white and oil in place of the butter. It has a nice flavor, but I wish I would have let it cool all the way before I sliced into it. It is going to make great toast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elaine H November 14, 2010

I haven't been making bread long but I knew I wanted a recipe that produced a softer and less crumby than the recipe I had been using. This recipe hit the nail on the head and has quickly become my #1 go-to bread recipe. My husband says this bread is "way better." It's so soft and delicious!

I should mention that I made a couple changes, though. I doubled the recipe. I used canola oil instead of butter (just a healthier choice). I also used 3 small potatoes that I "baked" in the microwave and mashed. Made the dough in the Kitchenaid and ended up adding maybe 1/2 -1 cup more flour because it was so sticky. (Not sure if that is from replacing the butter with oil or using too much potato.) I will probably use the potato flakes next time and see what sort of difference that makes. Baked my 2 loaves in the oven @ 350 for 30 min and got some beautiful, delicious bread! Thanks so much for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaMa's Apprentice October 16, 2010

This bread is delicious. I used butter. I didn't have any bread flour, so I added 1 teaspoon of dough enhancer to the white flour. I also added about 1/4 c cooked wheat berries. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charlie #5 March 11, 2010

Didn't raise nicely. Used light crust setting and wish I had used medium. Taste isn't too bad; will know more when I make my husband's lunch sandwich with it tomorrow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Kay R. February 17, 2010

This bread was great! I substituted 1 cup of kamut flour (similar to whole wheat) and 2 cups of bread flour. It was delicious and rose nicely. I will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosemere February 16, 2010

Just made this and it smells heavenly, I baked it in the machine and it baked up just fine now just to taste it. I am sure it will taste as good as it smells. Thanks for the recipe....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whiskerkitty January 23, 2010

Delicious bread! Wonderful taste and texture. I added some flax seeds to mine. Best bread I have made so far.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blondmema January 22, 2010

This was my first bread machine bread. It was great my family loved it! Lost one star because it was kind of dry. I might try using a real potato like others suggested in their reviews next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brokedownrage November 14, 2009

Great Bread! The family loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Justbeck October 27, 2009
Heavenly Whole Wheat Potato Bread (Bread Machine)