66 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is definitely heavenly! It disappears quickly because it is so light and flavorful. It may be the best loaf I've made with my machine. I do take mine out after the dough cycle, let it rise 35 minutes, and bake at 375F for 30 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rwilliams2911 December 10, 2013

Tried this recipe twice, and both times, it turned out horribly. I have been making bread for 10 years, and I just can't figure this one out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin M Ryan June 05, 2013

Was everything you said it would be.Thankyou so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frugalandfun January 06, 2013

Made this yesterday. (apparently my book disappeared so I came looking for recipes and this is the one I choose) I made as directed except... I replaced 1/2 c. of the whole wheat with 1/2 c. of rye. Everyone enjoyed. Family in town for the holidays and saw someone grab last piece around 6 this morning. great recipe. Flavor, smell and texture great

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
walla2butterfly December 28, 2012

This is the best potato bread my family has ever tried. I can not make it fast enough before it is all gone. I changed a few ingredients. I used all bread flour (no whole wheat flour) and I used potato water (left over from making potato salad). I also do not like to bake my bread in the bread machine so I put mine on manual and then I transfer the dough to a greased bread pan let rise 1/2 hour to an hour and then bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shellyssger November 30, 2012

Made for your Football Pool win & I love this recipe! Made essentially as written in my ABM, my only disappointment was that the loaf was smaller than I expected .. but still a good size for toast, sammies, etc. I challenged the recipe in every way possible & it met every test. I was well into combining the dry ingredients when I saw the dry instant mashed potato flakes I planned to use were actually the powder variety vs flakes. I had no clue if I should adjust for this, but it made sense more moisture would be needed - so I guessed & added 1 extra tbsp of water. While still warm from the ABM, I sliced the entire loaf. The texture is ideal & the slices were perfectly uniform w/no loss of shape, crust or crumb. While a potato flavour is not at all obvious, the taste is clearly superior to all "unflavoured" breads I've made. Congrats on your FB Pool win & thx for sharing this truly heavenly bread recipe w/us. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis November 02, 2012

Bread tasted wonderful! I wish the load was bigger, but there is always another loaf! Perfect size for sandwiches, my 4 year old even loved it. Great way to make wheat without vital wheat gluten. Soft and delicious, it is not crumbly at all. Very highly recommended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1stimeMom July 13, 2012

Superb loaf of bread. Wonderful in every way-texture, flavor, and it doesn't crumble when you slice it (amazing). Thanks for providing such a great recipe. Enjoyed with a hearty bowl of vegetable soup. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' September 07, 2011

By far the best wheat bread that's come out of my machine... wonderfully soft and delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3munchkins'mom July 22, 2011

I baked this recipe both in my breadmachine and in my oven after using the dough setting on my bread machine. Neither loaf turned out well despite my following the directions to the letter. Neither loaf raised up where it should've. The loafs tasted fine altho somewhat dense. I had to bake the loaf in my oven for 45 minutes to get it up to temperature. Because of it's taste I gave it 3 stars. Wish it had raised like it should. I used all fresh ingredients including my yeast. This is one recipe I won't be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
plantfreek June 06, 2011
Heavenly Whole Wheat Potato Bread (Bread Machine)