Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Heavenly Whole Wheat Potato Bread (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Heavenly Whole Wheat Potato Bread (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    65 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 65

    Sort by:

    • on February 27, 2010

      The bread turned out wonderfully. I followed the recipe exactly. Like any bread, it was the most "heavenly" when it was still warm. My husband is so sold on this recipe, he's asked me to start making it all the time and to stop using store bought bread altogether!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      Great loaf of bread! I made 2 loaves. One on the dough setting in the bread machine and the other with the kitchen aid. I baked both loaves at 350* for 30 minutes. The one made in the bread machine turned out to be a high-riser and looks and tastes wonderful. The one with the kitchen aid didn't rise as high (I should have left it to rise higher) and it is obvious denser. It will make good toast. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      This bread was awesome! I made it twice, the first time as is and used the regular cycle in the breadmaker & turned out perfect. The second time I tried to cheat and did not work, the rapid baking cycle and this recipe do not jive apparently :) Thx for a keeper...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Yummy!!! I made it in the bread machine but added too much yeast the first time. Those packets have 2 1/4 tsp and I just dumped it in not realizing it was too much and the top collapsed and it looked like a sad loaf but was still tasty. Used the correct amount the second time and it looks better but still tastes great! Really good when the edges are crunchy! I am amazed what a little potato can do for bread. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      This turns out a great loaf! I make it on dough cycle then knead it a bit and shape it ... let it rise an hour then bake at 375 for about 35 minutes. I really like the texture for sandwiches. I've also been using canola oil instead of butter only because I try not to eat too much butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      Great wheat bread recipe. We just ate it with butter, but I can see where it would make good sandwiches. Light, but not TOO light with a great wheat flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      Excellent bread with a wonderful texture. A definite keeper! Update 6/13/09 This has become one of my favorite bread recipes. I can always count on it coming out soft and fluffy and downright delicious! It stays nice for days, unlike so many ww breads. I prefer to bake it in two smaller loaf pans at 375 for about 35 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2014

      What a lovely loaf of bread this makes! I made this with a stand mixer, let it rise 1 hour, shaped the loaf to rise another hour, then baked at 375 degrees for 30 minutes. The dough was great to work with, very light and fluffy, and the bread is moist yet firm. Thanks for sharing a keeper! Made for Spring Pick-A-Chef 2014

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      WOW great bread. Love it for toast in the mornings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2013

      This is definitely heavenly! It disappears quickly because it is so light and flavorful. It may be the best loaf I've made with my machine. I do take mine out after the dough cycle, let it rise 35 minutes, and bake at 375F for 30 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2013

      Tried this recipe twice, and both times, it turned out horribly. I have been making bread for 10 years, and I just can't figure this one out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      Was everything you said it would be.Thankyou so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      Made this yesterday. (apparently my book disappeared so I came looking for recipes and this is the one I choose) I made as directed except... I replaced 1/2 c. of the whole wheat with 1/2 c. of rye. Everyone enjoyed. Family in town for the holidays and saw someone grab last piece around 6 this morning. great recipe. Flavor, smell and texture great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2012

      This is the best potato bread my family has ever tried. I can not make it fast enough before it is all gone. I changed a few ingredients. I used all bread flour (no whole wheat flour) and I used potato water (left over from making potato salad). I also do not like to bake my bread in the bread machine so I put mine on manual and then I transfer the dough to a greased bread pan let rise 1/2 hour to an hour and then bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

      Made for your Football Pool win & I love this recipe! Made essentially as written in my ABM, my only disappointment was that the loaf was smaller than I expected .. but still a good size for toast, sammies, etc. I challenged the recipe in every way possible & it met every test. I was well into combining the dry ingredients when I saw the dry instant mashed potato flakes I planned to use were actually the powder variety vs flakes. I had no clue if I should adjust for this, but it made sense more moisture would be needed - so I guessed & added 1 extra tbsp of water. While still warm from the ABM, I sliced the entire loaf. The texture is ideal & the slices were perfectly uniform w/no loss of shape, crust or crumb. While a potato flavour is not at all obvious, the taste is clearly superior to all "unflavoured" breads I've made. Congrats on your FB Pool win & thx for sharing this truly heavenly bread recipe w/us. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      Bread tasted wonderful! I wish the load was bigger, but there is always another loaf! Perfect size for sandwiches, my 4 year old even loved it. Great way to make wheat without vital wheat gluten. Soft and delicious, it is not crumbly at all. Very highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      Superb loaf of bread. Wonderful in every way-texture, flavor, and it doesn't crumble when you slice it (amazing). Thanks for providing such a great recipe. Enjoyed with a hearty bowl of vegetable soup. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2011

      By far the best wheat bread that's come out of my machine... wonderfully soft and delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      I baked this recipe both in my breadmachine and in my oven after using the dough setting on my bread machine. Neither loaf turned out well despite my following the directions to the letter. Neither loaf raised up where it should've. The loafs tasted fine altho somewhat dense. I had to bake the loaf in my oven for 45 minutes to get it up to temperature. Because of it's taste I gave it 3 stars. Wish it had raised like it should. I used all fresh ingredients including my yeast. This is one recipe I won't be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2011

      Everything Bayhill says about this bread recipe is true. Smells great while baking, and tastes delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Heavenly Whole Wheat Potato Bread (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (63 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 158.1
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    25%
    Total Fat 4.4 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 327.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites