Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Heavenly Whole Wheat Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Heavenly Whole Wheat Bread

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2012

      I use my bread machine on a weekly basis, and I'm always on the lookout for a good recipe. This is one of the best wheat bread recipes I've tried in a while! Not only does it taste delicious, but it has a superb keeping quality. It's still nice and fresh days after baking! A keeper for sure. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      This was the best wheat bread I have attempted yet. In fact, I think I will just stick with this one because it was wonderful! This recipe was easily adapted to my ktichenaid and oven, instead of my bread machine. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      This is very good bread. I cut down on the sugar and butter and added a little more whole wheat flour, but still came out great. This is my new basic recipe for whole wheat bread. I also prefer using my Oster mixer rather than a bread machine. I think the texture is better. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

    • on April 17, 2008

      Finally a whole wheat bread that we like. I don't use (or like) bread machines so I used my kitchen aid stand mixer. Next time I'll make a double recipe cause this one loaf ain't gonna be around very long. This was the first time using the gluten powder & I think it makes a huge difference. I let it rise about 1 1/2 hours, punched it down, put in the loaf pan, let it rise another 45 minutes, then baked it at 350 for 40 minutes. Perfection!! I am going to try all whole wheat flour next time as we are really trying to get away from white flour. I will post my results. Thanks for posting this, it is a real keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      It is heavenly no doubt about it.I love making bread and Wow this recipe is Perfect.I use the machine to do the work but baked it in the oven.Very impressed, so I'm adding a picture. I just bought a new ABM.I tried this recipe and baked it in the machine;turned out perfect again. I had to add more water.Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2006

      We love this bread! It has quickly become a favourite at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2006

      I was going to post this myself, but since I found it here, will rate it. Yes, it is heavenly and the best whole wheat bread I've ever tried. Besides the fact that it tends to stay fresher longer because of the potato flakes, it makes the best grilled cheese sandwiches ever. The only changes I make are to use 1 tbs sugar and 1 tbs honey instead of all sugar, and I usually will use only the dough cycle, shape and place in a loaf pan, let it rise again, brush with a bit of melted butter or margarine, and bake for about 25 minutes (until done and sounding hollow) at 350. When I take it out of the oven, sometimes I'll brush with a bit more melted butter or margarine if I feel like having a softer crust. But even as written, it's a great bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2006

      Used whole wheat cycle light crust and results were perfect. Taste and texture couldn't be better. Truly a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2006

      I've been remiss in not reviewing sooner, considering I baked this six times already! The only changes I make are to use grapeseed oil instead of butter and 3 TBL of sugar instead of 2. I use the Basic, Light Crust setting, but I still like to stop the bake cycle after 50 minutes (my Oster machine is like that). The loaf interior is not heavy, but soft and dense and ever slightly chewy. I place the sliced loaf in a plastic Ziplock at room temperature, and it keeps for a week. I love it toasted and slathered with raspberry jam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      We enjoyed this bread with our meal tonite, and I can't wait to toast it in the morning. This is a simple no nonsense recipe that yields a tasty loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2005

      This is a really nice recipe - it makes a golden, not-too-heavy wheat bread with a little chewiness - to me a perfect texture. It keeps pretty well too. I'll be making this often - thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      This wheat bread was my very first wheat bread I had ever tried. I would differently give this the highest rating there was. **The name of this bread sure does fit cause it is Heavenly!!! Thank you for the compliement Andy!! As I told Andy, My husband told me not to buy wheat bread in the store anymore. The bread came out fluffy and tender and was the same the next day. It was just as if I got it out of the oven. YUMMY!!! Thanks again Andy for sharing your sisters recipe with me and posting it here. I am sure others will enjoy too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Heavenly Whole Wheat Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 185.3
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    25%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 405.5 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gluten powder

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes