13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I use my bread machine on a weekly basis, and I'm always on the lookout for a good recipe. This is one of the best wheat bread recipes I've tried in a while! Not only does it taste delicious, but it has a superb keeping quality. It's still nice and fresh days after baking! A keeper for sure. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truebrit February 02, 2012

This was the best wheat bread I have attempted yet. In fact, I think I will just stick with this one because it was wonderful! This recipe was easily adapted to my ktichenaid and oven, instead of my bread machine. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TejasToast January 16, 2011

This is very good bread. I cut down on the sugar and butter and added a little more whole wheat flour, but still came out great. This is my new basic recipe for whole wheat bread. I also prefer using my Oster mixer rather than a bread machine. I think the texture is better. Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea April 13, 2009

Finally a whole wheat bread that we like. I don't use (or like) bread machines so I used my kitchen aid stand mixer. Next time I'll make a double recipe cause this one loaf ain't gonna be around very long. This was the first time using the gluten powder & I think it makes a huge difference. I let it rise about 1 1/2 hours, punched it down, put in the loaf pan, let it rise another 45 minutes, then baked it at 350 for 40 minutes. Perfection!! I am going to try all whole wheat flour next time as we are really trying to get away from white flour. I will post my results. Thanks for posting this, it is a real keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SammiCat April 17, 2008

It is heavenly no doubt about it.I love making bread and Wow this recipe is Perfect.I use the machine to do the work but baked it in the oven.Very impressed, so I'm adding a picture. I just bought a new ABM.I tried this recipe and baked it in the machine;turned out perfect again. I had to add more water.Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage September 27, 2006

We love this bread! It has quickly become a favourite at our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen September 10, 2006

I was going to post this myself, but since I found it here, will rate it. Yes, it is heavenly and the best whole wheat bread I've ever tried. Besides the fact that it tends to stay fresher longer because of the potato flakes, it makes the best grilled cheese sandwiches ever. The only changes I make are to use 1 tbs sugar and 1 tbs honey instead of all sugar, and I usually will use only the dough cycle, shape and place in a loaf pan, let it rise again, brush with a bit of melted butter or margarine, and bake for about 25 minutes (until done and sounding hollow) at 350. When I take it out of the oven, sometimes I'll brush with a bit more melted butter or margarine if I feel like having a softer crust. But even as written, it's a great bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catwhispers July 11, 2006

Used whole wheat cycle light crust and results were perfect. Taste and texture couldn't be better. Truly a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nita 284904 southern girl June 09, 2006

I've been remiss in not reviewing sooner, considering I baked this six times already! The only changes I make are to use grapeseed oil instead of butter and 3 TBL of sugar instead of 2. I use the Basic, Light Crust setting, but I still like to stop the bake cycle after 50 minutes (my Oster machine is like that). The loaf interior is not heavy, but soft and dense and ever slightly chewy. I place the sliced loaf in a plastic Ziplock at room temperature, and it keeps for a week. I love it toasted and slathered with raspberry jam.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
May M March 02, 2006
Heavenly Whole Wheat Bread