Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Heavenly Hummus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Heavenly Hummus

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2008

      I love the tahini paste in this recipe. The store bought stuff come in such a big container, it goes bad before I can use it up. I used all of the tahini paste with a 15 1/2 oz can of chick peas. I also added a couple of roasted red peppers. Thanks for bring back hummus to me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      I was really excited to try this recipe because I love hummus and there have been so many great reviews. I hate to be the lone dissenter, but this did not work for us at all. First, the tahini paste turned out way too liquidy....possibly because the ingredients state 1/2 cup of water while the instructions say 1/4 cup? I salvaged it by taking the excess water off the top of the paste and made the rest of the recipe as stated. The hummus was very soupy, not the texture I am used to, and this was after only adding 3 tbsp of olive oil. Also, the lemon and tahini flavors were way too overpowering for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      I used lime juice instead of lemon, as we like it better, and this is delicious hummus that was much enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Heavenly Indeed! I agree with everyone else...this is so much tastier than the store-bought versions. It's easy to make. I'd like to play around with the flavors, adding lots of roasted garlic or roasted red peppers, etc. for different versions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      I really enjoyed this recipe. I reduced the oil and used almond milk to suit my weight-loss program, and I added lemon zest, cumin and just a touch of dijon mustard. I especially liked the recipe for the homemade tahini as I didn't have any on hand. I made it with 2 TBS sesame seeds and 2 TBS pistachios because I LOVE pistachios. Thanks for the recipe, I will be using this one from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      5 BRIGHT STARS!!! Made a 1/2 recipe using (sorry to say) bottled tahini paste (didn't have enough sesame to make my own). Love the flavor . . .used lots of garlic and lemon! Also added a bit more smoked paprika. It's in the fridge right now . . . can't wait for happy hour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Yummy treat! I scaled this down a bit for one. Loved the lemon and garlic! Thanks! Made for ZWT4. Go Fancy Feinschmeckers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      My dh and I really liked this recipe. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      This was just exceptional hummus! I omitted the parsley but kept the rest of the recipe as it was written. Creamy and delicious served with pita triangles and grilled pita wedges. This will be my "go to" hummus recipe from here on in. Thanks for posting this well written and easy to follow recipe Alskann :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      I don't know how to describe this hummus, except "fluffy"! That's how light and creamy it was right after processing. I've enjoyed it for several days of lunches now: on sandwiches, with veggies, and crammed into a pita! Thanks for a great YUMMUS! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      Yummy, I grow up with Hummus but I have never made it using homemade tahini. I kept to the recipe but omit the optional parsley because I didn't have it at home. I served it with a drizzle of olive oil and a sprinkle of paprika. Thank you Alskann

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      My family loves hummus, especially my son. I buy store bought hummus to keep in the fridge as an after school snack for my son. Decided to use your recipe and make it for myself (so easy). We all had a taste and yummy, but my son thought it was better than the store bought stuff. Will definitely make again, only I would doulble ingredients as my son would eat that by the truck loads and my husband and I wouldn't have a look in. Thanks for posting it. On a personal note have added a few more of your recipes into my cookbook and can't wait to try them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      Alskann...I was not a fan of hummus until justthis pastweekend when I had it at a local tapas restaurant. Well it was so flavorful, I came home and tried to find one that seemed close. I found yours and it is better than what we had. I used a commercial tahini paste (Krinos) this time. I also added more garlic and sun dried tomatoes. I love this. It is a keeper for sure! Thanks so much for such a good recipe that I feel comfortable being creative with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      Yum Just love hummus! I used one 14 ounce can of chick peas and followed the amounts of the ingredients in the rest of the recipe. Used basil in place of parsley. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Heavenly Hummus

    Serving Size: 1 (78 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.0
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    59%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 326.0 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites