14 Reviews

I love the tahini paste in this recipe. The store bought stuff come in such a big container, it goes bad before I can use it up. I used all of the tahini paste with a 15 1/2 oz can of chick peas. I also added a couple of roasted red peppers. Thanks for bring back hummus to me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in NH November 01, 2008

I was really excited to try this recipe because I love hummus and there have been so many great reviews. I hate to be the lone dissenter, but this did not work for us at all. First, the tahini paste turned out way too liquidy....possibly because the ingredients state 1/2 cup of water while the instructions say 1/4 cup? I salvaged it by taking the excess water off the top of the paste and made the rest of the recipe as stated. The hummus was very soupy, not the texture I am used to, and this was after only adding 3 tbsp of olive oil. Also, the lemon and tahini flavors were way too overpowering for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway November 01, 2009

I used lime juice instead of lemon, as we like it better, and this is delicious hummus that was much enjoyed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Nataly* August 31, 2009

Heavenly Indeed! I agree with everyone else...this is so much tastier than the store-bought versions. It's easy to make. I'd like to play around with the flavors, adding lots of roasted garlic or roasted red peppers, etc. for different versions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen July 06, 2008

I really enjoyed this recipe. I reduced the oil and used almond milk to suit my weight-loss program, and I added lemon zest, cumin and just a touch of dijon mustard. I especially liked the recipe for the homemade tahini as I didn't have any on hand. I made it with 2 TBS sesame seeds and 2 TBS pistachios because I LOVE pistachios. Thanks for the recipe, I will be using this one from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caitylin July 04, 2008

5 BRIGHT STARS!!! Made a 1/2 recipe using (sorry to say) bottled tahini paste (didn't have enough sesame to make my own). Love the flavor . . .used lots of garlic and lemon! Also added a bit more smoked paprika. It's in the fridge right now . . . can't wait for happy hour!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench June 18, 2008

Yummy treat! I scaled this down a bit for one. Loved the lemon and garlic! Thanks! Made for ZWT4. Go Fancy Feinschmeckers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 June 18, 2008

My dh and I really liked this recipe. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Patience June 18, 2008

This was just exceptional hummus! I omitted the parsley but kept the rest of the recipe as it was written. Creamy and delicious served with pita triangles and grilled pita wedges. This will be my "go to" hummus recipe from here on in. Thanks for posting this well written and easy to follow recipe Alskann :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ April 09, 2008

I don't know how to describe this hummus, except "fluffy"! That's how light and creamy it was right after processing. I've enjoyed it for several days of lunches now: on sandwiches, with veggies, and crammed into a pita! Thanks for a great YUMMUS! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
White Rose Child April 02, 2008
Heavenly Hummus