27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Love these - definitely could use a few tweaks - like others said - I used half white and half brown sugar, and also added a tsp of vanilla. Baked at 350 for about 12 minutes and they seem divine so far! Let's see how they keep - or how LONG they will keep!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakerrenee November 29, 2009

These are so yummy! Very moist and chewy (Which is what an oatmeal cookie should be). I added a tsp. of vanilla and did half a cup of white and half a cup of brown sugar (and added extra mini chocolate chips, because it's Christmas and I can be a little bad!). I also only baked them for 12 minutes at 350F. Next time I would add a little extra banana as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alyce75 December 16, 2011

Easy to make...great taste. Will definitely make these again - thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeJunkie November 27, 2011

Okay, these cookies are very good--there's something they're missing. I was eating them last night, as was my husband and brought them to work and a couple of my friends said, "These are very good--bust something missing" I think I've got it! I'm going to try a tsp. of vanilla my next batch. Otherwise awesome! Love the moistjness about them :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FOODBRINGSHAPPINESS August 21, 2009

I really like this recipe. The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is because the banana flavor was kind of hidden under the taste of the semi sweet chocolate chips. I used 1 1/2 cups of really ripe mashed bananas but the taste was still really faint. Next time I think I'll try milk chocolate chips and maybe some more banana or maybe even a tsp of banana flavoring. I just expected more banana flavor but still the kids and hubby loved them so it was definitely a win. :) Thank you Bama Chef for the recipe. Glad I came across it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sammilammi November 26, 2013

I found this recipe today. So I decided to try it. In a half the batch I use raisin because I didn't have chocolate chips. The other half I did diced up green apples. Added a teaspoon of vanilla. I think that's the reason we didn't taste the banana in them. Nobody in my house likes oatmeal but my daughter liked the apple ones.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel October 09, 2013

Very easy and quite awesome! I chose to leave out both spices. I added 1tsp vanilla.
I reduced sugar to 2/3C, reduced butter to 1/2C, reduced bs to just <1/2tsp.
I increased banana to 11/2C.
Baked for 11 mins.
True banana flavor comes through. So soft and tender. You'll love these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nanbiondo March 01, 2013

These were not a favorite around here. DH didn't like them at all and while my girls ate them, they weren't asking for more. I thought they were pretty good (even considering that I don't like banana), but probably not something I will make again. As a note, I added 1 tsp vanilla, used 1/2 cup brown sugar with 1/2 cup granulated sugar, and subbed pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon and nutmeg. I also made these as bar cookies (baked in a 9x13 pan at 350 for about 25-30 min)and I will say that they turned out much more cake/muffin-like than I was expecting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dwynnie September 22, 2012

Delicious, moist, banana-y cookies just right for tempting my daughter's little taste buds. I did reduce the sugar to 2/3 cup as I thought 1 cup was quite a lot for my very ripe bananas. I can't imagine it made a difference to the overall taste or texture. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
colleenfitzgerald_11117846 September 02, 2012

Loved these! We doubled the recipe, cut the sugar amount in half (to 1 cup), and used traditional rolled oats. We still found them plenty sweet with the reduced sugar. Kids and adults gobbled them up. Our plan is to make several more batches and freeze them to use as healthy breakfast cookies. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Girle July 31, 2011
Heavenly Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies