Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Heavenly Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Heavenly Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2003

      This is the best banana bread I have ever made. It is so moist that is really needs to stand a while before you cut into it, if you can wait that long! It was a contribution to my DH 'Goody Day" at work and disappeared in minutes. Needless to say, it was a success. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2003

      Yummy Yummy Yummy. Followed the recipe to the T except, I added not only one teaspoon of vanilla, I also added a teaspoon of Rum.. it was wonderful. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2003

      This banana bread really stands out from all i have ever tried, the flavours are truly heavenly. I added 1/2 cup pecans for fun 2nd try, first time made added 1 1/4 cup, way to many ! I have no loaf pans so i subbed a Bundt cake pan, it was ready in 25 mins, kinda turned into a banana cake, it worked fine !!! I only waited 15 mins before i had to sneak a piece, wow, wow, wow !!! Cannot wait for tom morning, it will have time to settle and flavours will meld... The instructions including the appearance possibly curdling helped me not to wonder what happened to the darn thing, thanx for noting detail. This recipe created a great balance of all flavours, not to sweet, just a perfect balance of everything, perfectly moist. I will be sharing this great banana bread tom, certain the crowd will love it as much as i did !!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2003

      Wonderful recipe!! I've tried adding a little orange zest too and it turned out nice. Really needs to rest before cutting, it's sooo tender and moist! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2003

      Something needed to happen with the three large bananas rapidly turning black on my counter, so I yanked this recipe from my files, and went to town. Cinnamon was added with flour/bp; at 1/2 cup, I realised that I was out of AP flour, and used southern flour for the remainder. Went with the rum option (captn morgan's spiced), a bit heavy-handed. I baked these in three mini-loaf pans, at about 35-40 minutes. I know that these won't hit perfection until tomorrow, but the bite- okay, bites, that I have taken of the little loaf are just scrumptious. Incredibly moist, with a nice wave of banana and spice rolling into it your mouth. I thought I had a great banana bread recipe, but it may just have to step aside. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2003

      Yes! This delivered as promised a spongy, moist loaf that was fun to make! For extra decadence, I added a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips. It was a big hit with the whole family. The recipe did not specify when to add the cinnamon, so I guessed and mixed it in with the dry ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2004

      This is absolutely delicious. Very moist, very dense, flavorful bread. After I put the batter in my loaf pan I realized that I had forgotten the vanilla and cinnamon and had to dump the batter back into the bowl and add them. Duh. I also added about 1/2-3/4 cup pecans because I am partial to banana nut bread. Really terrific bread, even better the next day refrigerated. (I have been munching on pieces all morning). My only qualm: I had the same problem that Laurel had with the outside of the loaf being done before the center was anywhere near done. I tented it with foil after about 25 minutes and baked it for about 20 minutes longer without reducing temperature. Perhaps a lower cooking temperature would be better suited for the longer loaf? I would definitely make this again- its absolutely scrumptious, but maybe next time at 350 instead.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2003

      Great taste! Very moist!!! I started baking it at 375 degrees as stated in the recipe. It seemed to be browning too quickly on top so I tented it with aluminum foil and turned the temp down to 350 degrees. Maybe my oven was baking hot. It seemed done after 65 minutes, but after I cut into it, I still found some gooey spots. I will certainly give this another try, as it had great flavor!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2003

      Made this recipe last night, and it worked out great! I used a muffin tin (baked for 15-20 min) and added about 1/2 cup blueberries. My husband couldn't stop eating them! Yum!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2003

    • on May 22, 2007

      This was a special bread, but it tasted more like a spice bread to us and not very banana-y. I used three medium bananas and a little less cinnamon. I baked at 350 (due to reviewers comments) for 47 minutes and it came out fine, no gooey spots. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2006

      Makes a very moist loaf with a beautiful color, mine was sweeter than I prefer, but the taste was overall good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2005

      This bread is delicious!! It is not too sweet and very moist. I only had 2 bananas so I added 1/4 tsp. banana extract with the vanilla to make sure it had plenty of banana flavor. Because we like nuts, I added 1/2 c. chopped walnuts. Also, I baked it in a cast iron loaf pan which gave it a nice crust. Thank you very much for this wonderful recipe. I will be making it again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2005

      A little fluffy for me. If you like a soft, tender banana bread, this is for you, though. It was easy to put together and it has a good flavor. It did take longer than 50 minutes to bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2005

      Really great banana bread. Added both vanilla and rum. Bakes into a very pretty loaf. Think this is the one I'll be proud to give to friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2004

      After all of the reviews for moist banana bread, I'm not quite sure what happened when I made this. I followed the recipe exactly, but my loaf was quite dry. Perhaps lowering the temperature and covering with foil as other reviewers mentioned would have helped. Sorry this didn't work out...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Heavenly Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (830 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2377.5
     
    Calories from Fat 902
    37%
    Total Fat 100.2 g
    154%
    Saturated Fat 60.8 g
    304%
    Cholesterol 458.7 mg
    152%
    Sodium 1860.7 mg
    77%
    Total Carbohydrate 349.1 g
    116%
    Dietary Fiber 11.8 g
    47%
    Sugars 193.0 g
    772%
    Protein 29.8 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites