Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Heavenly Baked Sweet Potato Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Heavenly Baked Sweet Potato

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 26, 2011

      All I could find were huge sweet potatoes at the store but that was fine. I baked it and then cut off a serving sized piece. Peeled it easily so I wouldn't waste any of the tasty toppings. I used the Splenda brown sugar and margarine to shave off a few calories and this made an ordinary lunch seem elegant! I made this for Best of Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      This is a really nice way to do sweet potatoes. It was just a tad bit too sweet for our tastes. However, everyone is different and I know others would absolutely love that extra bit of sweetness! I think I'll do it again, but with a lot less of the brown sugar and honey. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      You can't get any better than this for a baked sweet potato - even though I cheated and microwaved my potatoes instead of baking them. The flavors are wonderful and not overly sweet. My daughter and I loved our potatoes that I served along side roasted chicken. I guesstimated the measurements as it is the combination that makes this recipe work so it is so nice to be able to adjust to each person's needs (like my DD who loves things a bit sweeter than me). All around nice recipe! Made for the Best of 2010 Tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      This was very easy and so yummy! I microwaved my sweet potato because I was impatient, but it was still heavenly! It definitely is sweet, but not too sweet for my taste I guess, because I used both brown sugar and honey. Thank you for sharing! Made for Best of the Best 2010 Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      I just love describing this oh, so southern-inspired recipe (honey, pecans, brown sugar) with two syllable words. For instance...ya-uuuum and gu-oooood. The additional syllable balances the expression. That's the poetry of the English language...of us in the south.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      I divided the additions between 2 small sweet potatoes, and they were wonderful. I used finely chopped pecans because that was what I had, but I think it made this even tastier. Left out the honey, because when I tasted it, it was sweet enough without it. Thanks for sharing your yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      Wonderful! I haven't had a baked sweet potato for a very long time and I absolutely loved this one. I microwaved mine and used hazelnuts because I was out of pecans. I can't wait to go back to the grocery store to buy more sweet potatoes to make this again! Thanks xpnsve for sharing a total keeper. Made for I Recommend Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      I used a large sweet potatoe that weighed nearly 700 grams and took about 1 1/4 to bake to tender. I mixed 1 tablespoon brown sugar with 1/4 cup pecans and 2 tablespoons of butter (wasn't sure what 1/4 real butter measurement was) and I then scooped the flesh out of the potatoe and mixed with the sugar and then put back into the skins and was going to drizzle with sugar free maple syrup but couldn't find it in the pantry but we still all very much enjoyed as it was. Thank you xpnsve. made for ZAAR Chef Alphabet Soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      This was great! I didn't want to wait an hour for my dinner (as I was just having this with a salad) so cooked the potato in the microwave until tender. Used dark brown sugar and instead of the pecans I added some dried cherries (I bet dried cranberries would also be good). Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      This was an awesome spud! I used candied pecan pieces and skipped the honey...excellent! Thanks so much for posting! (Made for Potato/Pasta Photo Swap '08)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      Wonderful! We added cinnamon and omitted the honey. My husband is a huge fan of Lone Star Steak house baked sweet potato so I thought I better look for a recipe. He adds a GENEROUS amount of cinnamon and sugar to his and calls it dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      Delicious! For calorie-watchers, consider trying the sweet potato with only a generous sprinkling of chopped pecans; the potatoes are very tasty that way, too. As the recipe is written, though, the sweet potatoes are a wonderful treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2005

      Just made this for the second time - forget to rate it the first time. Wonderful recipe. Enjoyed by all. Maybe it was the size of the sweet potato, but one hour to cook was not enough. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Heavenly Baked Sweet Potato

    Serving Size: 1 (284 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 939.5
     
    Calories from Fat 591
    62%
    Total Fat 65.7 g
    101%
    Saturated Fat 30.8 g
    154%
    Cholesterol 122.0 mg
    40%
    Sodium 486.1 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 91.6 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 6.6 g
    26%
    Sugars 67.8 g
    271%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes