Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hearty Vegetarian Tofu Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hearty Vegetarian Tofu Chili

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2011

      I made this exactly as stated except I used a red bell pepper (more antioxidents). The flavor & texture was perfect!! Be sure and lightly brown the tofu as directed. Thanks LU2Bake for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2014

    • on June 26, 2013

      Made this several times now. It's my daughters' favorite chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      Great recipe! I have been using this for 2 years. I quadruple the recipe and freeze it in quart sized freezer bags.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      I've wanted to start eating more vegetarian dishes. This is quite wonderful on a cold rainy day, and it get better with age.
      yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      I've never made chili before, and thanks to all the other reviewers I went ahead and did it. It was simple and came out soooo delicious! Hearty, healthy...perfect on a cold winter night! I basically followed the recipe (I added half a can of black beans because I had extra). Please make this chili!! You can't go wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      Delicious! I've never made chili before because it always looked so complicated and time-consuming, but after finding this recipe I gave it a shot. Followed it to the T and IT WAS PERFECT. Flavorful, not too spicy, healthy and so unbelievably good...I'm so happy to have a great chili recipe now! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      very yummy with pan fried polenta! I know this makes it not vegan, but a dollop of sour cream and some chopped green onions really make it a great dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

    • on October 09, 2009

      thanks to all the reviewers I made this and even for a non cook like myself this was EASY! Iloved that there aren't 101 different ingredients. The only thing I really underestimated the simmer time. Also, like others commented I would not include carrots next time. I had tons of leftovers which served well for lunch the entire week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      My expectations were blown out of the water with this chili! I heard someone on the radio debating whether or not it was chili weather yet. While it really wasn't (it was 94 degrees today) my leftovers will be ready for a arctic cold front that is blowing through tomorrow! I cut the tofu into small cubes, as I like the texture better that way. Other than that and adding a little extra hot sauce, I followed every other instruction to the letter. So delicious, thank you for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      I love this recipe! It is very versitile and delicious, thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Absolutely loved this recipe (it was my first vegetarian homemade dish!). I used all red beans (grew up in the south) - so cooked the beans with veg. broth and cayenne. Then made your recipe (minus carrots - not a cooked carrot fan) - and YUM! Thank you so very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Very thick and hardy chili. I should have left the carrots out, as I don't like sweet chili, but that's just me. I did use red kidney beans, as that's what I had on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      I found this recipe a wonderful , I added a half a bottle of dark beer and found it complimented the recipe perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      It's a pretty serviceable low fat chili. And yes, if you mince/crumble the tofu up and give it enough heat to firm it up and dry it up (It actually squeaked in my frying pan, which was a new food sound to me) It takes on the nice meaty texture you're going for. My only complaint is that there's a sweet taste that I tend to get from all things soy that I need to balance to make this taste like its more savory, more meaty brethren.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      This was the best chili I have ever made, vegetarian or not! Would recommend to anyone. I even brought it to work for Co-Workers to try and they raved! I shredded my carrots, and added corn, but other than that, the recipie was great without tweeking anything! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Great recipe! Doubled it, used diced fire-roasted tomatoes, black beans and red kidneys, chipotle chile powder and added two tablespoons of dark molasses for just a subtle hint of sweetness. A bit of a kick but not overpowering. Magnifique!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      Fantastic recipe!!! I didn't have an onion on hand, so I used 1 cup frozen; and I don't like cooked carrots, so I added a second can of white kidney beans. SO good! This is definitely going to be a staple in our house. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      This was so delicious! I added about 1 T. fresh chopped clili pepper during step 3 to give it more kick. It came out wonderfully and I will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hearty Vegetarian Tofu Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (634 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 387.6
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    16%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 864.1 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.0 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 20.5 g
    82%
    Sugars 13.9 g
    55%
    Protein 26.2 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites