Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hearty Vegetable and Lentil Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hearty Vegetable and Lentil Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2007

      Thanks for sharing this delicious soup. Felt full n healthy after eating it. Only change was to omit parsnip as we didn't have it, am sure it would've been a lovely addition :-) Also skipped the coriander as I don't enjoy it, but will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2013

      I made this soup for mom when she came in to town. I love red lentils as they give a softer flavor than the brown. Although Love the brown as well. I used potatoes as opposed to parsnips ( they did not lot good at the store), sweet potatoe (kumaro), chicken stock from freezer, and curry powder. I loved the flavors and the taste of the soup. Well defined. I think it is the pureed soup part that I may be off with. I love textures in my soups being a country gal. I will make this again as it just tastes so good and get used to the pureed feeling. Mom and DH did like it. DH is also a chunky soup lover but said this is good. I think next time I will leave full bodied and try that way. My favorite part was the yogurt topping. WOW what a game changer. I will use this again on regular lentil soup and maybe a few others. It gives a tangy taste just sets your mouth to smiling when mixed with the softness of the soup. mmm mmm Made for Aus/NZ April 2013

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      I made this using what I had subbing curry powder for curry paste and rice for the lentils. I had no idea until it was time to add the lentils that I didn't have any. I really liked it and realized that I love pureed soups. I have looked eveywhere for curry paste and brown lentils but can't find them at any of the local grocery stores. Made for I Went to the Market Tag 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      Great mid week dinner - I left out the yoghurt but loved just the coriander, fresh from the garden, on top so thanks Pat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      I enjoyed this soup alot! The flavors were so good and the yogurt and cilantro mixed in made it even better! I used homemade vegetable stock and couldn't find curry paste so used some homemade Cape Malay curry powder. So glad I tried this! Made for Diabetic forum-Soups On event!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Another rocket blasting recipe submitted by Pat! We devoured this, and simply adored it. I used all ingredients, (sweet potato=kumara) and a beef broth in place of vegetable broth. I love red lentils, as they really can turn into such fine tasting lentils, with a mild flavor.I wouldn't change one thing about this recipe, as it is a supreme recipe! Both in taste, quantity, and quality!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      This soup maker loves well seasoned Lentil soups - Hearty Vegetable and Lentil Soup is one that comes to the table looking great and tasting as good as it looks - a combination that makes for a wonderful lunch or supper soup. I didn't have a sweet potato which I will use next time - used snipped fresh parsley instead of the coriander for the same reason. Served with Russian Rye Bread for the Bread Machine this made for a wonderful meal. We both thank you for a great Lentil soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      The flavours were lovely, great for a mid week winters dinner. Although I used all ingredients listed I changed the method somewhat. Instead of chopping the kumera and parsnips (only used 250gm) I grated them and added along with the stock etc. at step 2. Cooked until lentils were very mushy and did not puree as DH prefers a soup with texture. I used a korma curry paste which gave a nice subtle curry taste. I had the leftovers the following day...even more flavoursome (Pureeing them this time as shown in the photo)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      Absolutely delicious soup. The only change I made was to use chicken stock in place of the vegetable stock. My non eating vegetable son (I mean this literally!) ate 2 bowls and was licking his lips. So in saying that we will have this soup on a regular basis. he he he The curry paste is a nice flavour addition. Great recipe thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hearty Vegetable and Lentil Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (397 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 222.2
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    16%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 2.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 114.0 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
    24%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 11.6 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    parsnips

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes