Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hearty Tuscan White Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hearty Tuscan White Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 21, 2013

      Very nice. I used my homemade turkey stock in place of chicken stock. Added some mushrooms for extra goodness. Otherwise made as written and mopped it up with some crusty bread. Thanks for a lovely dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2012

      Great recipe. I did make a serving for three and added 1/3 lb. ground pork. Really good for a cool spring day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      Really good!!! I changed it up a bit based upon what I had in the pantry. I doubled the recipe, and had to use one can of green bean to make up the white beans. I didn't have enough tomatoes, so I used a can of chunky tomato soup. And I used rosemary instead of thyme, since I'm not a big thyme fan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2012

      great soup, I used kale and doubled the spices. No meat needed in this soup.

      Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      Great, hearty soup for a cool fall evening or weekend. If I don't have spinach, I have also made it with kale and we think it is wonderful. Awesome with a nice loaf of crusty bread. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      It was very good; not necessarily exceptional but a sturdy soup. Next time I think I will add some meatballs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      Made this tonight for dinner - DH and I loved it. I did add mini meatballs and we thought it was probably better that way. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      I adopted ShanaC for PAC 2010 and this is one recipe I tried. I was fortunate enough to have 2 cups of homemade chicken/vegetable broth in the fridge which worked perfectly for this soup. I didn't add extra liquid, as we tend to like our soup a bit thicker. I used a mixture of canned white beans and a bag of fresh spinach as I always have it on hand. As I like my spices, I increased the dried thyme to 1 tsp, the bay leaves to four and added a few drops of Tabasco. Thanks, ShanaC for an easy but tasty dish. I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      Delicious and easy. I doubled the number of garlic cloves and poured in an additional cup of leftover homemade chicken soup that was sitting in the frige. I also added some curry powder because it seemed just a tad bland. It's delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

    • on March 10, 2009

      Oh so YUMMY!!!! I was one stalk of celery shy so I added an extra carrot. I increased the garlic to about 7 cloves, I used fresh baby spinach (chopped) and used chicken stock instead of broth. I also thawed some frozen meatballs to plop in this (for my kids). I was able to serve them up a bowl with meatballs and I ate mine without and it was SO filling! This was for lunch today and it makes WAY more than 6 (in my opinion). I hope this freezes well but I also look forward to having this for lunch again tomorrow. My kids loved it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      I made this last night and it was so good! I bought a can of navy beans and a can of great northerns, just to have a little variety, but upon tasting the juice drained from the can (and I KNOW I'm not the only one who drinks it!) I found the navys had soooo much more flavor. Next time I'm going all navy beans, and we felt that we wanted more beans so I'm doin' three cans. Oh, and I'd recommend using a small pasta like ditalini, since whatever you use will swell up to twice it's normal cooked size. GREAT soup, Shana, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      This is a KEEPER. I used fresh spinach, 3 cans of beans, 1 smashed, not drained and added a little more noodles, added some italian meatballs made of black bear. There was hardly any leftovers, thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      This was simply fantastic! I doubled the carrots and added an extra stalk of celery, but other than that, stayed true to the recipe. Simply delicious (and oh-so-healthy!). I served Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs on the side and a sweet brown bread for dipping. Thank you, Shana, for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      This soup was delicious! The only changes I made was to add an additional can of beans which I mashed up, and I left out the bay leaf and put in a little sage. My husband and 13 year old loved it. Plenty of leftovers for the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      This is very easy to make and quite nutritious. It is even better the next day. It is simple and you can taste all of the ingredients. Hubby and I both enjoyed it very much. Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      It was delicious! My husband is usually not crazy about soup, but he loved this one. It was very easy to make and took no time at all. I added different vegetables to make it even more hearty and they tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      This was great, nice creamy texture from the beans. Freezes well. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      What a delicious hearty soup this is. I omitted the celery as hubby doesnt like it, added some basil and rosemary and used vegie stock rather than chicken broth. Absolutely delish! Hubby is not a big soup person and he loved it! Great with crusty bread! Thanks Shana.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      This was a wonderful soup. I used leftover Rosemary White Beans, rather than canned beans, so they added an extra element of flavor. Except for adding extra garlic, I didn't make any other changes. Well, I did forget to serve sprinkled with cheese. :) Although the soup certainly didn't taste like it was missing anything, a little Parmigiano-Reggiano would have complemented the dish nicely...maybe next time. :) Thanks for posting this hearty, warming recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hearty Tuscan White Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (545 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 370.6
     
    Calories from Fat 101
    27%
    Total Fat 11.3 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 725.5 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 10.5 g
    42%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 19.2 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites