Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hearty Split Pea Soup! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hearty Split Pea Soup!

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2011

      This soup is absolutely delicious! I haven't made split pea soup in a long time but had a ham bone and some ham broth that I didn't want to go to waste. I'm sure I've never put potatoes in my split pea soup before but this sounded interesting. It turned out wonderful!! I have to say that I did not use the oregano, bay leaf or sherry.....personal preference.......but I followed everything else as written. This is definitely a keeper in my book! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      So good! Threw everything into the crockpot and then processed with a food processor - loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      I've made this soup a couple times now. I learned the hard way not to use a glazed or sweetened ham. The sweetness didn't mesh well with what I expected from a good split pea soup. This is truly a good split pea soup. The less aggressively you cut/eat from the shank, the more ham you have to melt into your soup. Total Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      I used yellow split peas (it is what I had on hand) and didn't use the sherry (since I couldn't find it!), but I followed that direction on everything else and it turned out wonderfully! The sautéing really did improve the flavor. I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      I used a ham steak and omitted the sherry and hot sauce. I cooked it in the crockpot for 5 hours. My 9 year old and 16 year old loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      Been using this recipe for the past several years after Christmas and after Easter (the two ham holidays for me!) and it ALWAYS comes out SO SO good ... I skip the sherry and haven't used the bacon in the past, and even without it is SO good. I use an immersion blender to mix it all, including any meat that fell off the bone, then I'll reserver some chopped ham on the side to add in AFTER it is blended togethter so you have the rich and thick soup with chuncks of fresh ham. With bacon this would be even better - its going in this year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      Made this soup last night. Even though it was midnight when I finally took it off the stove I had to have a bowl. Fantastic! -even without the sherry (I have to run to the store to get more). Can't wait to try it WITH the sherry. Like some of the others, I substitutes 2 qts of veg stock for the water which I thik really added to the flavor. I also added about 50% more vegetables too. Split-pea soup is my favorite, and this recipe is the best I have had! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      Hummina, hummina, hummina! I love split pea soup. Cannot resist adding this to the ole cookbook! Perfecto! Jelly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      Made the recipe as written with one exception: Did not have the meat called for, so substituted a half pound (raw weight) of partially cooked, drained bacon, and about a quarter pound of cured ham. (Very close to "ham hock.") The result was delicious! Pure comfort food and almost exactly the taste I was looking for. When this batch is gone, I will do again and omit the potatoes. It's a personal thing, but I like the pea taste to come through a little stronger. Will probably add more celery, a small diced turnip, and a bit more Louisiana hot sauce. If you try this, please do as written first. You will love it, and it will be gone before it completely cools! Thanks Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      Delicious! I made this using a ham bone, but think any smoked meat would work well. I only cooked mine a couple of hours and used an immersion blender to smooth the soup. Loved the addition of sherry and hot sauce--made it stand out from other similar recipes. Thanks for posting Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      Fabulous dish! I used two stalks of celery & 6oz of Canadian Bacon slices which I left whole until after the soup was done cooking. Then I fished them out and chopped into bite sized pieces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      This is one great recipe! The spices bring delicious flavor to this soup. My finicky husband went back for seconds!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      YUM! This soup was full of flavour and perfect for our British weather this weekend! I loved the addition of the sherry - something I would never have thought of. This will be a regular here! Made for ZWT3, Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      Wonderful Recipe!!! This is FABULOUS split pea soup! Sauteeing the veggies really added a nice dimension and the Sherry is an ingenious addition. I used a meaty ham bone and decided against running the soup through the food processor b/c it had a great consistency. I added about a cup of leftover ham chunks at the end, so I did not use the bacon topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      This is a quote from my husband. "This is the best pea soup I've ever had in my life. Even better than my mothers!" Enough said!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      Wow. I made so many substitutions that I didn't really make your recipe at all, but I wanted to weigh in because some of your directions were great. Sauteeing the veggies first was awesome! It really added flavor. Also the sherry added such a great flavor. Here are my substitutions in case you are interested in making variations: I used yellow split peas instead of green, thyme instead of oregano, a slice of lean ham instead of the ham bone/shank, rutabega instead of potatos, and french bread instead of croutons and bacon. Mmmm mmm good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      An excellent soup recipe! Recommend this recipe especially if you have a leftover country ham. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      This soup is sublime...delicious and filling, comfort food in a bowl. I had some leftover baked ham, and the broth which I had made using the ham bone, so I decided to break with tradition and try this recipe. Am I ever glad I did. To lower the glycemic value (diabetics in the family), I used half yellow split peas, and half channa dal, and this worked perfectly. With the long cooking, the split peas almost dissolved, and the channa became soft but held it's shape. I also used an immersion blender to further thicken the soup. Because I had a quantity of ham to add, I omitted the bacon, but will certainly use it as a garnish next time. Thank you for this superb soup recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      I made this soup yesterday for lunch along with some other things. I doubled the recipe (didn't use the hot sauce, sherry or bay leaf, Personal preferences) and I added some cumin. NOTHING WAS LEFT, PEOPLE EVEN TOOK SOME HOME!! Thanks for posting this recipe, it is truly a keeper. My children from age 9 to 17 even loved it. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      Very tasty soup! I sauteed the veggies in bacon fat and I also used 4 cans of chicken broth instead of water. I added the bacon as well. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hearty Split Pea Soup!

    Serving Size: 1 (209 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 624.2
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    10%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 5.7 mg
    1%
    Sodium 195.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 96.8 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 32.9 g
    131%
    Sugars 13.3 g
    53%
    Protein 32.9 g
    65%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham bone

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites