Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hearty Portuguese Kale Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hearty Portuguese Kale Soup

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2013

      I get a lot of kale from my summer CSA, so how to use it up is always a question. This soup is a great way to use up it up (despite making it on a 90 degree day!), and it freezes well. Perfect for a "what am I going to bring for a work lunch?" question, with a slice of toasted sourdough break alongside.<br/><br/>Few changes - I used sweet sausage, and added an additional 2 cups of chicken stock, as the liquid will get soaked up by the potatoes and pasta. Added 2/3 of a cup of orzo instead of the 1-1/2 cups of ditalini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      Delicious! I took some advice from other posters and added the 2 gloves of garlic while sauteing the onions and sausage (the recipe calls for chorizo however, I used linquica). I cut the pasta down to one cup from the one and half the recipe calls for and the potatoes I used were average sized not "large". I also added some red pepper flakes to add a little extra heat! This will certainly be my Kale Soup Recipe for the rest of my life!!! Obrigado

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      I made this soup during my Dad's last visit. I am half Portuguese on my father's side, but by the time I was born, my Nana had long ago hung up her apron and her desire to cook. This was the first time I had made or tried this rich and hearty meal. Blue and I loved it, but for my dad, it was really a treat. He said it was every bit as good as the one he remembered from his childhood visits to Rhode Island. I served it with crusty buttered rolls and Nana's "Pappish" (Portuguese Sweet Rice). The entire meal was a hit of epic proportions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2014

      Bitsie - this soup is amazing! All of the 5-star reviews were spot on. I found this recipe by searching for "kale soup".<br/><br/>I never bought chorizo and didn't know what to expect. I sent my husband to the store and he called and asked if I wanted pork or beef. I said to get one of each. So, when I started to make the recipe, there was no "cutting it into pieces" because it came in a tube and blopped out like mush! I was a little skeptical at this point! Are there different types of chorizo???<br/><br/>Anyway, I followed the recipe and even drained the "mush" on paper towels and it turned out great.<br/><br/>I added a little garlic and some carrots per other recommendations and because I had them. <br/><br/>This soup is so flavorful and good. Not too spicy but with a kick. I used more broth than originally called for and used the pasta and potatoes. <br/><br/>HIGHLY recommended! Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2012

      This soup is phenomenal, and a great way to use kale! I used hot Italian sausage (couldn't find chorizo), and omitted the pasta. I found that 1 quart of broth was not enough, and added two extra cups. Also, I added the canned kidney beans right at the end to preserve their texture. As some reviewers suggested, next time I will add two cloves of garlic next time, and maybe some carrots. I served this with some homemade bread - thanks for sharing a winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      This soup is soooo good and very simple and quick to make. I got some fresh kale from my local CSA which inspired me to make kale soup for the first time and I will be saving this recipe for years to come. I did end up using about 3 times the amount of broth because 1 quart was not nearly enough.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      This was fab. The chorizo gives it a great smokey flavor. Definitely double the chicken broth or more and I grated some parmesan cheese over the top of each serving. Served with crusty bread, it was a complete meal. My 3 year old loved it as did my husband. Easy way to get your greens!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2006

      I was surprise at how delicious and different this recipe was. I enjoyed the full flavor and can't wait to make it again. Though, I think it needs at least 4 more cups of water or chicken broth. Mine can out too dry, unlike a soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2006

      I agree, this was a REALLY tasty soup. I also did not add the ditalini, but used a 48 oz can of chicken broth, because I thought a quart was just not enough. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2005

      I grew up with this soup aka "Caldina" my gramma never put kidney beans - just white northern beans and used a soup bone vs chx broth but this recipe was quite delicious - My children loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2014

      Created an account just to review this soup: Thank You Bitsie! Great flavor and texture. Made 'as is' to the recipe, but took a couple of suggestions from others: added 2 garlic cloves and a dash of hot pepper flakes to the onion, added diced carrot for color and texture, used hot sausage (Linguica was too expensive), and homemade stock. Also doubled the liquid - a must as just 1 qt. absorbs into the kale and pasta within an hour. This is on my Top 5 list.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2014

      This is a delicious and satisfying soup! I wanted it to be meatless so left out the chorizo and added a generous amount of smoked paprika and chili powder to the sauteing onions to give the broth the flavor that the chorizo would have added. Really liked the addition of the beans in this. Thanks for sharing your recipe! Made for the Best of 2013 event, recommended by Debbie R.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      Tasty soup. I followed other reviewers and doubled the broth. Even with, it was still a stew consistency fresh from the pot. Leftovers will definitely need more broth. I also added at least a teaspoon of smoked paprika to this after tasting it. This could definitely be 5 stars with a little tweaking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2013

      Fantastic, easy soup. I only had 1/2 lb. chorizo and no pasta; still turned out fantastic. I did have to add an additional cup of broth. It just wouldn't have had enough liquid otherwise. My kale was still a bright green and a little al dente; I loved the different textures of the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

      I doubled the chicken broth and used pasta shells. It was delicious. Everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2012

      Printed this recipe about a month ago and I'm just finally making it today...it is DELICIOUS...I uploaded my pot of soup...thanks so much for posting this recipe it's def. a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2012

      Oh Yum! This was a real treat for dinner last night. The bags of kale I've been getting from our CSA needed to be used ASAP and I was running out of ideas on how to use kale. I subbed Italian sausage and added Franks hot sauce to heat it up. I also subbed black beans for kidney beans as we don't really like kidney beans in this house. 4 cloves of garlic found their way into the broth and I left out the pasta as I am celiac and didn't really feel the soup needed more carbs anyway. Thank you for posting your recipe Bitsie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      Bitsie... Thanks for the recipe! This was a wonderful soup. I did a few modifications like some of the other posters. I used italian sausage and Kielbasa. I think I should have just used the italian sausage (next time!). I added some garlic and some red pepper flakes for extra flavor. I left off the potatoes and beans (I don't generally like beans/potatoes). And I replaced the noodles w/quinoa. The quinoa in it was a FANTASTIC swap! It turned out very salty (I think it was the Kielbasa) but otherwise it was fantastic! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      DH brought home some chorizo and we were supposed to be watching our weight! What to do? I made this soup and mixed my naughty chorizo with my nice kale, and ate it without guilt. I have made a similar soup in the past, but with regular sausage. Chorizo is much better. I also like the addition of the potatoes, beans and pasta. Very hearty soup and delicious. Easy to personalize with garlic or red pepper flakes to kick up the heat. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      This soup is FABULOUS!!! It is quick and easy, I didn't add pasta, potatoes are enough cabs for me. I will definitely make this again...Thanks Bitsie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hearty Portuguese Kale Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (642 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 794.0
     
    Calories from Fat 300
    37%
    Total Fat 33.3 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 11.6 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 66.6 mg
    22%
    Sodium 1466.2 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.4 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 12.5 g
    50%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 37.4 g
    74%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites