9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very flavourful and healthy. I will certainly make this again. It is also very filling.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene10 March 28, 2004

WONDERFUL!!! I elected to use a potato masher instead of blending the soup. It was SOOO good that I had it for dinner last night and lunch today! Thanks!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandyMurph March 22, 2004

Extremely easy to make. Delicious. Four stars only because I need to leave room at the very top for the very best. I will make this frequently. Leave a few florets aside to decorate the top upon serving, and/or swirl in a little cream. Only a little, tho'!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Capt Nemo March 07, 2004

Super good and easy, I also used just a bit of olive oil, so this was virtually fat-free. Filling and healthy, really exactly what I wanted!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan April 01, 2013

Great, easy soup! The only change I made was to use olive oil instead of marg. I made it for lunch today & am glad that there are leftovers for tomorrow. thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gumboot Gourmet March 05, 2010

LOVE this! Derf, another winner : ) I used olive oil instead of butter and didn't realize I didn't have any nutmeg until it was too late. I had to google what you can use in place of nutmeg. Turns out not much! I ended up using tiny (and I mean tiny!) pinches of allspice, coriander, cinnamon, black pepper and a clove. I let the potatoes cook for awhile before adding the broccoli. I thought the amount of broccoli looked like alot, but it was just perfect. This is so healthy and so yummy! Thanks Derf!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lakerdog2 September 22, 2008

Very nice soup, easy to make and very tasty. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gardening Girl March 04, 2008

Perfect. I used 3 medium-ish potatoes and pealed them. 6 cups broth (to stretch the recipe) and no clue how much broccoli I used. I did not add the broccoli and potato at the same time. Potatoes always take longer to cook in my house than any other house in the world so I gave them some extra time. You never said when to add the nutmeg, so I added it when I blended with a hand blender. I also added (the same time I added the broccoli) some dried parsley. I really loved this soup and will make it again and again. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse February 01, 2008

Bursting with flavour and easy as well. I personally found it too salty, but will compensate for that the next time I make it. The older daughter (who usually eats everything but hates broccoli) ate a whole bowl and said it didn't suck.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen1961 October 29, 2004
Hearty Low Fat Broccoli Soup