Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hearty Hamburger Soup

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on October 20, 2013

      I made this soup today for Sunday Dinner and it was delicious!!! I followed the recipe to the tee with some minor changes. Instead of six cups of water, I used four cups of beef broth and two cups of water. Using the beef broth cuts down on the amount of salt and seasonings. Oh, and I left out the celery. I don't like celery so, I used green bell pepper instead. This will definitely be my go to soup recipe for the Winter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      I made this Hamburger soup with a few changes, I used eight cups of water instead because I wanted to add a lot of veggies and didn't want to not have enough liquid.. I also doubled all my spices. It was fantastic. A friend of the family came over and she tried it and I ended up giving the recipe to four different people.. I loved this soup and am making it again tonight.. This recipe is very easy to change to taste, adding whatever vegies you like! I also added mushrooms ten mins before serving.. delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      Made this soup last night, and it was great. I followed the recipe to a T and next time I make it (which I definitely will) I will probably leave out the sliced celery, since I am not a big fan of cooked celery. I'll just go with the celery leaves. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      Yum. This was great comfort food! The only changes were that I didn't have tomato sauce, so I used tomato juice and reduced it all down a bit longer. Also, I added a splash of red wine and a splash of worcestershire sauce. Used some beef broth and some water. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2014

      LOVED this recipe! However, I tweaked a bit. I subbed the hamburger meat with lean ground turkey (always do). Instead of adding any water at all, I put in 4 cups of beef stock and 2-3 cups of Clamato tomato juice--the juice was the magical ingredient here! I also added 3 cloves of minced garlic, red pepper chili flakes and a bit of cayenne to pack on a little heat! And then when it came to serving time I chose the healthier route and topped with Greek yogurt. This soup was SO full of flavor, my family loved it. I will definitely make again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2014

      Soooo good!!!! I've made this several times and it's always excellent on a cold day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2014

      Not as good as I expected getting almost 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      YUMMY...Very good ..left out the salt, figured the soup mix and soy had plenty of that already..I cooked noodles seperately though, to keep them firm, hate soggy noodles..LOL people are so funny, they change the recipe, then give it a lower rating as they didn't care for the taste..LOL too funny..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      This soup is at the top of my soup recipes list now! I halved the recipe and used a frozen "mixed vegetables" bag with peas, corn, and carrot. The soup had a GREAT flavor. I never would have thought to put parmesan on the soup but it is SO good, you have to try it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      Tasty and filling soup! We really enjoyed this topped with the parmesan and a few tortilla chips. I did take a few liberties with the recipe. I added the celery and 2 tbsp of minced garlic when I browned the ground beef. Also, because I had some leftover, I added about 1 1/2 cups of cooked shell pasta. I could have sworn I had onion soup mix in the pantry (don't you always have it in the pantry?) but needless to say when I went to grab it, it could not be found. I used beef broth instead of the water to make up for the difference. Thanks Engrossed for a wonderful soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      DH made this for me tonight as I'm under the weather. It really smelled good as it was cooking. I think I'd like more oregano and basil in it next time. Made for *Zaar Stars* game 2008

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      I made this as a take-home meal for my DS, with a few changes though, I browned the beef with onion and also fresh garlic and 2 large jalapeno peppers, I omitted the celery and celery leaves and omitted the salt the dry soup mix and soy sauce is salty enough, I used 2 cups beef broth and the rest water, I received a quick call to inform me that this hearty was enjoyed, thanks for this great recipe Engrossed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      This was really good and easy to make. I followed the recipe except I followed some of the others reviewers advice and used beef broth instead of water. This was very tasty and as the name says "hearty" soup. I topped ours with cheddar cheese when serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      DH made this for dinner tonight ... was very impressed with himself. It was good. He added peas, green beans and chopped red bell pepper. He subbed V8 and chicken stock for the water. Thanks Engrossed for a great dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      This was good, made it for lunch this past week, it really sticks with you through the afternoon. Hubby has always made his mom's recipe, which is pretty much the same but without as many seasonings. This will stay in my recipe rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      I used broth instead of water and it was a bit salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2007

      The soup was super easy to make. I also subbed the water for beef broth and did not use the seasoned salt but chopped garlic it was even better the second day

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

    • on April 17, 2007

      This was a very good recipe. I did added 1/4 cup of flour after I browned the ground beef. To thicken the soup. I also did not use diced tomatoes, but I used 2 cans of tomato sauce. we loved it!! It was great the second day!! Thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      We did love this soup! I used ground round and vegetable broth instead of water. Omitted the seasoning salt and added some chopped garlic. Great job Engrossed, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hearty Hamburger Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.7
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    35%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 49.1 mg
    16%
    Sodium 571.1 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    18%
    Protein 17.8 g
    35%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes