Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hearty Hamburger Soup

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2008

      I've made this recipe many times. The whole family loves it! I let it simmer in the crockpot all day then add the noodles (precooked) just before serving. Thanks so much for sharing such fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      Delicious soup! I put the cooked ground beef along with other ingredients except the green beans into the crockpot in the morning and let it simmer all day. I also added some minced garlic and some red pepper flakes. I added the frozen green beans 30 min. before serving. I also added a cup of cooked pasta right before serving. I will make this often in the cooler months. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      VERY versatile. I've made this soup a few times now and put in a variety of vegetables (parsnips, turnips, frozen mixed vegetables, canned corn, etc), even added leftover mac and cheese once, and it has turned out great every time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      This is a great basic recipe that you can throw in whatever veggies you have on hand. Great flavor. I was so impressed with how it turned out. Very simple to throw together and so yummy. I didn't use noodles or green beans. I added a can of black beans, sliced zucchini and cubed yams. I've had a weird craving for yams and they were delicious in this soup. It was soooo good! I will be making this often!! Thanks for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      I substituted 1/2 c. canned peas for the celery and 1/2 c. canned corn for the green beans during the last 15 min. of cooking time. I used 5 bouillon cubes and pureed the diced tomates as my family hates tomato chunks. The soup is delicious. This is the vegetable beef recipe I plan to use. I've stopped searching! Thanks for sharing. Mountainbaby

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      This was really good! I didn't have any celery so I put cilantro instead. The last half hour I put a little bit of pasta. Served with a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      A delicious soup! I think I first ran across this recipe on the back of a box of Barley years ago, and I have been making it ever since. It makes a delicious hearty soup. I omit the water and bouillon cubes and add 4 cups of organic beef stock instead. I also like to use Yukon gold potatoes because they don%u2019t get as mushy as white potatoes. Thanks for posting this recipe, lets.eat! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

      I made this recipe on 1/14/13 for mine and my SO's dinner. And due to what I didn't have, a few changes were made.They are as follows:instead of celery, a couple of shakes of dried celery flakes and about 1 teaspoon of crushed celery seed was used. All I had were baby carrots which were diced into bite size pieces.The diced tomatoes were replaced with the same size can of tomatoes that already had basil,orgeano,and galic.But I still added the 1/4 teaspoon of orgeano.Then I subbed peas for the green beans. I let the soup simmer for about 25 minutes total. We both gave this recipe a " Good Solid 4****'s ". Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2012

    • on December 30, 2010

      It was good. The thing I liked about it is that it is so easy to put together. I didn't have green beans so I used the okra I had in my refrig. I wanted a thicker base so after the first 15 mintutes, I added a tablespoon of cornstarch and cooked it another 5 minutes and it was ready.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      5 stars for ease and taste. I also turned this into a crockpot dish. Browned the beef and onions with 2 cloves of garlic. Added carrots and celery and cooked a bit longer. Didn't have regular diced tomatoes so I used a can of Rotel which gave the soup a nice zip. Added fresh green beans at the beginning and cooked on low for about 5 hours. Added about a cup and half of macaroni pasta at the end. Made enough for 2 adults and a 3 year old for dinner plus a big stash in the freezer for another meal later. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      I've made this lots of times since finding it in Taste of Home because it is, as lolablitz said, simple but tasty. I like to use broth rather than water and bouillon cubes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      This was SO SUPRISINGLY GOOD! I couldn't believe that something so simple (and cheap!) could come out of ingredients I had on hand at the end of the week before Grocery Day tomorrow. I sauteed the onions and celery with the ground beef. I didn't add the salt as lets eat suggested, and used Better than boullion, skipped the green beans, and used one potato and one sweet potato. I simmered for 15 minutes then added about 1.5 cups of leftover Alton Brown Macaroni & Cheese. I was hesitant to use the mac but had a TON leftover after DD's birthday party and it was wonderful! I tasted it before and after and the "after" was even better :) It only took another 5 min and everything was cooked and awesome. Thanks for the keeper lets eat!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      yum! added a cup of macaroni and onion and garlic salt w a bunch of veggies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      This certainly exceeded my expectations, had great flavor and very filling. Made only slight modifications using canned corn and green beans, pasta shells, fresh garlic and stewed tomatoes that I chopped up because that's all I had and left out the celery. I like lots of flavor so I definately kicked the spices up using some onion powder, pinch of cayenne and a seasoning blend which gave it a bolder flavor. Maybe those weren't slight modifications after all but hey the end result was the good. Def make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      Very good tasting soup! I didn't add the potatoes but otherwise followed the recipe. It is definitely hearty! Makes a great meal. Thanks, Leezah4!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      Great comfort food! I used frozen mixed veggies, added a can of beef broth & some pasta. Family loved it! Will make often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      I made this last night but used one 16oz bag of frozen stew veggies instead because I realized at the last minute that my potatoes were less than desireable! So I just cooked it a little longer. I added 1 cup of frozen corn and 2 cups of pasta, which was a suggestion in the recipe description, but I think that may have been too much because It ended up being too thick for me. All in all is was very good but I think I'd like to try it again without any pasta. This is something I would make again though. Thank's for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      A great meal-in-a-bowl soup. I used a 28 oz. can of tomatoes, one can of beef broth, and 2 cups potato water saved from boiling potatoes for another recipe, 2 tablespoons beef soup base mix instead of the bouillon cubes, and one 14 oz. can of green beans, drained and added for the last few minutes only. Delicious soup. Served it with chunks of rye bread and butter for lunch today. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      Decided at the last minute to make this for supper as I had all the ingredients. I doubled the recipe (for leftovers) and had fresh green beans. Was quick and very good, can't wait to have some today, maybe for breakfast! Thanks Leezah 4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hearty Hamburger Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (340 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 201.0
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    40%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 38.8 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1014.0 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 13.2 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites