Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hearty German Farmer's Breakfast (Bauernfruhstuck) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hearty German Farmer's Breakfast (Bauernfruhstuck)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 09, 2005

      My DH loved this! Reminded us of cold October mornings in Munich. The only things I changed was to use olive oil instead of bacon fat and black forest ham instead of bacon. Served it with hearty black rye bread with jam. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      Delicious!! I cut the red potatoes into slices--extra thin and browned in the bacon drippings, then layered in the other ingredients (adding slice mushrooms. EXCELLENT dinner with Pillsbury Grands for the Breakfast Anytime Event in Cooking Photos!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      What a great recipe! I used leftover baked potatoes.. no green peppers.. half the bacon.. and added some ham and green onion because I needed to use them up. It made an excellent dinner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2006

      this is how we make our breakfast skillet too but we have german in us lol dee red bell peppers are pretty in this also

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      Much as I'd like to have used regular bacon and cheddar cheese, I'm on a mission to keep my husband alive, so I chose turkey bacon and fat-free cheddar. Won't be doing the latter again - the resemblance to actual cheese was nil! The turkey bacon (Oscar Mayer) was quite nice in this dish and I imagine using real cheese will improve it substantially. Oh, I also removed half of the egg yolks. With all those changes, I hesitate to give this any star rating, but I'll do so if I get the chance to make it as written. Thanks for posting, BecR!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2012

      I personally didn't try this but hubby said it was very good. I have made something similar many times since I've been married but don't think I have ever made it using the cooked potatoes. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2012

      I'll never use frozen potatoes again in a skillet egg recipe. The raw ones hold their shape nicely as they cook! Note to self, fry potatoes in batches to brown and then saute peppers/onions. Another great recipe BecR. Thank you. Made for More Than Sauerkraut And Dumplings 2012

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2012

      I happened to have really good, thick bacon which turned out tasting almost like "Speck Wuerfel". I used less bacon than stated and kept less of the fat b/c I'm counting WW points. Still, it turned out wonderful - both DH and I loooovvved it! Lecker! Thanks, Becky!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2011

      Really delicious and filling breakfast. We scaled the recipe back for two and it was great! Thanks for the post. Made for the Octoberfest-Diabetic Form, October, 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hearty German Farmer's Breakfast (Bauernfruhstuck)

    Serving Size: 1 (277 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 390.7
     
    Calories from Fat 120
    30%
    Total Fat 13.3 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 289.3 mg
    96%
    Sodium 231.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.0 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
    25%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 17.1 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites