8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thia was an excellent tasting soup. The change was I used Jimmy Dean bulk sausage instead of the Italian. I was afraid the seasonongs in the Italian would over power the soup's other seasonings and since garlic was already used, it probably didn't need any more.
Try this soup. A keeper for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Saskatchewan Bound January 08, 2012

We all really, really enjoyed this soup. The only changes we made were in the preparation and not the ingredients: we didn't mash the potatoes and carrot, and we sliced the Italian sausage links into rounds. Potatoes, carrot and garlic we cooked in the microwave. Sausage and onion we sauteed in the soup kettle, then sprinkled with the flour and stirred until all the flour was clinging to the meat & onion. Added the milk to the soup pot next and continued as recipe stated from there. Will definitely make this recipe again, and will share with friends!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinay0618 September 19, 2010

I thought this recipe was incredible. I am only giving it 4 stars because I didn't follow it exactly. Didn't have any carrots so I subbed cabbage, and didn't have any Italian sausage so I put in some turkey polish sausage. Used garlic powder but I don't think it lacked. Skipped seasoning salt and used dry parsley. The base of this soup is excellent. I've never made potato soup before but I'll certainly be making this again! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sam_bauer13 December 21, 2009

Found this in my TOH mag too; AMAZING SOUP. BEST potato soup EVER, in my mind! It really is smooth! THANKS for posting!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachie P February 19, 2009

Wow, one of the top 10 soups I've ever had. My modifications were to use the water from the potatoes, to a 4 cup water/4 cup milk (1%) ratio. Healthier, lighter soup. Sausage used was a Mennonnite farmer's sausage, with 1/2 cut in cubes, the other 1/2 finely shopped. Also added about 2-3 cups chopped cabbage, and grated parmesan (as recommended above).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flxstr November 12, 2005

This is fantastic! The only alteration I made was to use polish sausage rather than Italian, due to my own preference. Made so much I froze a good portion, and have to say, it thaws well too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sm2be October 26, 2005

Fabulous soup, highly individual, completely unlike any soup I’ve ever made or eaten before! Apart from liking soups – as a winter warmer – I probably enjoy making soups because I enjoy the freedom to disregard exact proportions and quantities. I more or less doubled this recipe, so there was a lot both to eat now and to stash away in the freezer. I used some delicious baby potatoes and baby carrots and included all the other listed ingredients and followed keen5’s very clearly explained instructions, but I also added one leek, some basil, some finely grated Parmesan and some white wine (Reisling). I am still trying to track down a sausage that I like, so instead of sausages I added meatballs – my Pork, Mushroom and Soy Sauce Meatballs Pork, Mushroom and Soy Sauce Meatballs. Delicious winter recipe! Do try it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder July 31, 2005

Yum! Fantastic recipe and really easy...thank you! I reserved the water from cooking the potato and carrot and used it place of 2 c of the milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fitnessfanatic December 20, 2004
Hearty Garlic Potato Soup