Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hearty Garlic Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hearty Garlic Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2012

      Thia was an excellent tasting soup. The change was I used Jimmy Dean bulk sausage instead of the Italian. I was afraid the seasonongs in the Italian would over power the soup's other seasonings and since garlic was already used, it probably didn't need any more.
      Try this soup. A keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      We all really, really enjoyed this soup. The only changes we made were in the preparation and not the ingredients: we didn't mash the potatoes and carrot, and we sliced the Italian sausage links into rounds. Potatoes, carrot and garlic we cooked in the microwave. Sausage and onion we sauteed in the soup kettle, then sprinkled with the flour and stirred until all the flour was clinging to the meat & onion. Added the milk to the soup pot next and continued as recipe stated from there. Will definitely make this recipe again, and will share with friends!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      I thought this recipe was incredible. I am only giving it 4 stars because I didn't follow it exactly. Didn't have any carrots so I subbed cabbage, and didn't have any Italian sausage so I put in some turkey polish sausage. Used garlic powder but I don't think it lacked. Skipped seasoning salt and used dry parsley. The base of this soup is excellent. I've never made potato soup before but I'll certainly be making this again! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      Found this in my TOH mag too; AMAZING SOUP. BEST potato soup EVER, in my mind! It really is smooth! THANKS for posting!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2005

      Wow, one of the top 10 soups I've ever had. My modifications were to use the water from the potatoes, to a 4 cup water/4 cup milk (1%) ratio. Healthier, lighter soup. Sausage used was a Mennonnite farmer's sausage, with 1/2 cut in cubes, the other 1/2 finely shopped. Also added about 2-3 cups chopped cabbage, and grated parmesan (as recommended above).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      This is fantastic! The only alteration I made was to use polish sausage rather than Italian, due to my own preference. Made so much I froze a good portion, and have to say, it thaws well too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2005

      Fabulous soup, highly individual, completely unlike any soup I’ve ever made or eaten before! Apart from liking soups – as a winter warmer – I probably enjoy making soups because I enjoy the freedom to disregard exact proportions and quantities. I more or less doubled this recipe, so there was a lot both to eat now and to stash away in the freezer. I used some delicious baby potatoes and baby carrots and included all the other listed ingredients and followed keen5’s very clearly explained instructions, but I also added one leek, some basil, some finely grated Parmesan and some white wine (Reisling). I am still trying to track down a sausage that I like, so instead of sausages I added meatballs – my Pork, Mushroom and Soy Sauce Meatballs Pork, Mushroom and Soy Sauce Meatballs. Delicious winter recipe! Do try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      Yum! Fantastic recipe and really easy...thank you! I reserved the water from cooking the potato and carrot and used it place of 2 c of the milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hearty Garlic Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (344 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 328.4
     
    Calories from Fat 143
    43%
    Total Fat 15.9 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 47.3 mg
    15%
    Sodium 595.3 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 11.4 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes