Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hearty Cabbage Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hearty Cabbage Soup

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-50 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2006

      I started out searching RecipeZaar for the Cabbage Soup Diet and I found this recipe during my search. The ingredients sounded tasty, so I tried it. I just put the finishing touches on this Cabbage Soup and the results were AMAZING! The soup was so flavorful and so easy to prepare! I closely followed the recipe with the exception of adding 8oz. of mushrooms sauteed in Garlic Butter, an extra tablespoon of fresh Dill and a teaspoon of crushed Garlic. Excellent!! I will prepare this soup in the very, very near future! (So much for the diet!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2006

      This is very good! I used a couple of shakes of dried dill, celery salt in lieu of the celery and the salt, and fat free sour cream. It is much more flavorful than I expected. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

      THis was so good and easy. The kids loved it too. I used yogurt instead of sour cream, with a little vinager. It was very filling. I'll surly make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      WOW!!! This is impressive I must say-I never before understood why people buy cabbage at the grocery store until I wanted to try a new type of soup recipe. So I took the chance. Next time I will make a double batch for my family. The only major thing that I did differently is added about 2-3tbs of seasoned tomatoe paste and a whole leak (adjusted onion to half since I added leak).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      Have been looking a long time for a delicious cabbage soup without tomatoes in it. Did make some changes to this. Didn't have any celery, omitted the flour, dill and sour cream, as we didn't want a thick soup. As we really like cabbage, 4 cups was used, rather than 2 cups. Used kosher salt and fresh ground pepper to taste. Thank you for posting this. It is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      The whole family loved it, including the youngest who usually turns her nose up at new soups! I used vege stock, and low fat yogurt instead of sour cream. It was still delicious, but lower fat. We used up some left over bread by toasting it, but next time I'll try to make home made rolls to go with the soup. It was so nice to have the whole family eat the soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2005

      Delicious! Great flavours for a soup with so few ingredients. The added sour cream gives the soup wonderful flavour. Served this on a chilly weekend Winter evening with some hot crusty rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2005

      It was a chilly day here today so I made this soup for supper. I didn't have any sour cream so what I did was puree some of the vegetables with some stock and the flour and then stirred it back into the soup. It turned out great! I also used half chicken stock and half vegetable stock and did add some carrots and rutabaga as some of the other reviewers suggested. It made a delicious supper with hot crusty rolls and Lennie's mincemeat squares for dessert. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2005

      Absolutly delicious. Followed the recipe and serve it with diced ham-added to your liking at the table. The dill hit the spot. Mine had been in the freezer for at least 5 years but still tasted fresh. Now I know why I'm a pack-rat. I made my own broth and it was still simple. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2004

      This is a great hearty soup that hits the spot on a chilly night. I used about 3 cups of cabbage and followed the rest of the recipe as posted. I'm truly not a dill fan, so I'll omit that in the future. If you want a one dish meal and prefer to have meat as well, sausage, kielbasa or pancetta would all be a nice addition. This is a dish that we will be enjoying many times to come - thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hearty Cabbage Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (642 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 398.6
     
    Calories from Fat 144
    36%
    Total Fat 16.0 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 41.0 mg
    13%
    Sodium 614.0 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 10.8 g
    43%
    Protein 14.2 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites