Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hearty Cabbage Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hearty Cabbage Soup

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2003

      Very good, and very easy! I knew it was a hit when my husband said "Next time we make this..." and suggested adding carrots for color. We didn't have dill, but it was delicious anyway. We'll definitely make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      Absolutely loved this soup. Made it 3 times in the past 3 weeks! I made it as written 1st. The next times I doubled the cabbage, celery, potatoes, and sour cream, and also added kielbosa. I did as one review mentioned and threw it all in the pot without sauteing. Thank you for sharing such a simple and yummy soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Thank you for a wonderful soup! I did add some bacon that I fried up and used some of that grease instead of butter and added some diced red pepper, l carrot diced, and roasted garlic which I had in the fridge and needed to use. I did cut the dill down a little for DH and added some red pepper flakes for our tastes (we like a little zip). This is one recipe I will definately make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      I'm on WW Core program so I made a slight change and used barley instead of potatoes. This soup is delicious and will definitely be made again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2006

      This was really good. I did make a few changes. I added an extra cup of cabbage (coleslaw mix actually, so cabbage with a little carrot in it), added a cup of chopped rutabaga, only used 2 potatoes, and used a teaspoon of dried dill instead of fresh. I also used 3 cups of homemade tomato soup with an extra couple of tablespoons of seasoned tomato paste and 4 cups of chicken stock because I made the tomato soup yesterday and wasn't overly impressed with it on it's own (too much like broth), but it made a great base for this soup. All in all, it was really more like soup that happened to have a little cabbage in it than cabbage soup, so I think next time I might double the cabbage. I'll also make it more as directed by making with 3 potatoes instead of partially replacing with rutabaga because I liked it, but DH didn't especially care for the rutabaga.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      We're soup lovers, and this one is a keeper. I didn't add potatoes, we're trying to lower our carbs. Instead I put in a few diced carrots and a cup of diced rutabaga. The dill flavor was so good! I'll make this again. Thanks Rick!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2002

    • on May 12, 2014

      Who knew such humble ingredients would have so much flavor?!? We loved it. I added 1/2 t dried dill, as I didn't have fresh. I didn't measure the cabbage, but used 1/2 head. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      I love making this soup in the winter. I'm from Central Europe and love dill. I've eaten many cabbage soups in my life but this one truly stands out! Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2013

      This is so thick and creamy and the aroma while its cooking fills a house with so much flavor! Made some of this yesterday, but made changes this time. I doubled the cabbage to 8 cups shredded, used leeks instead of onions and used a package of those brown and serve breakfast sausage links in it(cut each link into quarters. I also added a cup of celery and a cup of carrots (cut into 1/4-inch pieces. Used 3T of flour and 3/4 c. sour cream. It is so food and full of a lot of "goodies" in each bite. Good base recipe Rick for us to start from. Thank you! Also cubed the potatoes instead of slicing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2012

      Delicious! This soup was so soothing. Real comfort food. I've been on a cabbage kick and was looking for a non-tomato based cabbage soup that wasn't full of fat. This recipe fit the bill perfectly. I added a few small carrots, used an extra stalk of celery and dried dill weed. Thanks for posting the recipe, I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2012

      I have never made cabbage soup before, and thought I would try this one. It was soooo easy to make and the taste was soooo good. This recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      I visited Russia about 10 years ago, and my host family made a cabbage soup with sour cream and, I think, dill. I loved it so much that I always wished that I could have it again, which is why I eventually came here searching for something similar. This soup tastes just as wonderful as I remember it!!! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      This is a very tasty and hearty soup. I will probably cut back the dill to 1 tsp for my own personal tastes, but other than that I would make no changes. Very good. Thank you sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      Yummy! Loved this soup! I used coconut oil instead of butter in step one, added some diced carrot and used ham stock for the liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      This soup was outstanding! I added the carrots another reviewer suggested (after all, onions & celery & carrots are the 'holy trinity' of soup bases, are they not?). Thanks for this easy, delicious recipe, Rick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      This made a nice supper! I enjoyed all the flavors. Thanks! Made for the soup tag at Food.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      Do not be fooled by the large amount of broth included in this recipe. You are *boiling* it the majority of the cooking time, which means quite a bit of evaporation. I thought I would be ok to serve 5 with this - I didn't get to eat. However, the bite I tasted was really good, and all of the ingredients are inexpensive, which is a big plus right now. I will probably make this again, doubling the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Love this soup absolutely delish! Didn't change a thing. Except didn't have fresh dill so used dry. Very good. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Mmmmmmmmm!! Added extra of all veggies~~like it thick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hearty Cabbage Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (642 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 398.6
     
    Calories from Fat 144
    36%
    Total Fat 16.0 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 41.0 mg
    13%
    Sodium 614.0 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 10.8 g
    43%
    Protein 14.2 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites