Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hearty Black Bean Chowder - Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hearty Black Bean Chowder - Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2011

      Great dish! I added some minced garlic and chopped jalapeno pepper. It was very enjoyable. We also tried the leftovers over some leftover rice, and that was a great combo too. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      This was quick and easy, kids loved it. Instead of doing the crock pot I simmered it over medium heat on the stove. I didn't taste it, the three of them ate it all (they only weigh 110 lbs combined!) so it must have been really good. Thanks so much for a kid pleaser! I am a Marine wife, and when he's gone some nights it just seems like so much work to come up with dinners that make everyone happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      This is exactly what I needed today to make something so easy and so good that stopping off at a Chinese pick-up would of been harder and not as tasty as this. I followed this pretty much as close to the recipe as I could get. The only small changes I made was 1) instead of a can of diced tomatoes, mine had some zesty jalapeno's in them 2) and added some pre-cooked grilled chicken breasts - shredded. 3) Instead of frozen corn, I had a can of white corn with chipolte by *Jolly Green Giant* There was and there is no need to change anything ~ it's perfection plus! Great recipe that I will make again! Made for *Everyday is a Holiday* April 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Very, very tasty 'chowder' which I made with vegetable broth for a couple of vegetarians who were here for lunch! I did use just the 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper & another time might add a bit of garlic, but I'm really not complaining ~ Definitely a keeper recipe for me! [Tagged, made & reviewed in 1-2-3 Hit Wonders tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      Really good and really easy!! I made just as posted except I added 3 cloves chopped garlic. I served it with sour cream, cilantro, guacomole, and multigrain tortillia chips. A total keeper and I will make again and again. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      This is really tasty and incredibly easy to make. I fried some corn tortillas to make chips and used them to scoop up this thick "chowder." Yum. I did not use any of the optional ingredients but my BF wished we did have some sour cream. This is a dish I would be happy to make again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      I made this as stated. It was AWESOME and freezes very well. DH loved it as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      I have made this recipe several time. My whole family loves it. Instead of the frozen corn, we use a large can of Mexican corn and sometimes add a cup of shredded chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      This was so good and yet takes very little effort. I made no changes to the recipe except to add some chopped garlic. I love that it's so tasty plus pretty lowfat. Thanx for sharing. I'll make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      This was a tasty, filing, easy to prepare soup. I used home cooked black beans, and home made chicken broth, I added 1/4 tsp. salt because my broth and beans weren't salty, and I cut the cayenne down to 1/4 tsp. so my four year old could eat it. Cooked it in the crock pot for four hours on high, and ate it the next day with sour cream. I think the flavors were better, and the soup was thicker, the second day. This will definitely go into the rotation; it is a great recipe as is, and also has a lot of potential for adaptation! Thanks, Brooke!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hearty Black Bean Chowder - Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (290 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 140.5
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    83%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 268.1 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    28%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes