18 Reviews

This is a perfectly named soup! On a cold, damp day, the hearty flavors and textures really hit the spot, without doing any damage to my waistline. I made a few changes based on the ingredients that were on hand- lamb instead of beef, pearl barley instead of instant (added with 40 minutes of cook time left), and dried porcini's instead of fresh mushrooms. For the liquid, I used a cup of wine and a cup of the mushroom soaking liquid instead of part of the water. The soup came out rich and full of flavor, with tender meat and vegetables and broth so good you could drink it all by itself. I made a full pot, but most of this will go into the freezer for future lunches. Thanks so much for a wonderful meal!
** I made this soup about 10 weeks ago, and put most of it in the freezer. I took some of it out today for lunch, and it was just as good as the day I made it. I needed to add a little water, as the barley had absorbed most of it, but otherwise it was perfect!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH January 20, 2012

Ah, pure comfort. My grandmother made a version of this quite often when I was a kid, and it was always my favorite. I made as written except for subbing 1 cup red wine for 1 cup of the water (it needed using :) )This is a very hearty soup, quite filling. Looking forward to the leftovers for lunch!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey January 10, 2010

I like everything about this recipe. It is indeed heartwarming, healthy and flavourful. I mostly followed the recipe and ingredients except for browning the meat with the spices, then added the veggies to let them brown along for 5 min and then added the liquid. I did not add tomato paste because I like the broth runny. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini September 20, 2013

What a delicious and comfort food for a cold rainy day. I did cut the recipe in half for the two of us and used regular barley in step two like a previous reviewer. DH totally enjoyed this soup with a slice of french bread. Thank you for posting and will make this again. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf February 09, 2013

Made a half recipe for the two of us with a little left over. Loved all the veggies and the flavors blended wonderfully. Will make this one often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound December 28, 2012

Easy soup for a fall day. I had to use up some ground beef, so pressed it into nuggets. I browned them, which helped them stay together. I poured off the fat, then added the veggies and browned them a bit. Added the broth and water, stirring up the fond. Used no salt, the broth was salty enough. Did add a bay leaf. Also, I added some dried mushrooms which I rehydrated and used the soaking water for part of the liquid. I used regular barley and just added it earlier to the soup. Very satisfying.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte October 15, 2012

I'd picked this for today because it was supposed to be cooler. Alas, the front didn't reach us so it was still 89 degrees. Regardless, this soup was delicious and satisfying....think it would be even better on a cold night. Can't wait for winter! Made for Market Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom September 23, 2012

Very nicely satisfying soup, this, & since it was for only 2 of us, I was happy to freeze a good portion of it for later use! I did take a tip from another review in that I substituted a cup of red wine for part of the water that was used & it did, I believe, make it even more comforting! Thanks for posting this great recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 21, 2010

we really enjoyed this soup thanks for a very good recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
memaw #2 January 11, 2010
Heartwarming Beef-Barley Soup