Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hearts Afire Coffee Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hearts Afire Coffee

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2009

      I made a 'breakfast' version of this which I really enjoyed. Used reg. milk instead of the 1/2 and 1/2, no whipped cream, and a sprinkle of cocoa instead of the chocolate shavings. Very much enjoyed the combo of chocolate/vanilla/cinnamon/ground red pepper (I used cayenne). Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      What a nice blend of flavors. I was very concerned about the red pepper so I used a very very small dash of it. I did use 3 shots of espresso in place of the coffee and then steamed my milk and then just mixed it into the mug with the spices. Worked out great! Thanks diner for a great treat on my Valentine's evening! Made for 123 Hits!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2014

      This was a nice spicy treat to warm up on a chilly morning. I halved the recipe, used 2% milk instead of half and half and used a bit of allspice and cinnamon, I think I may have been a little heavy handed with the red pepper, it really had a kick, but was really tasty. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      I have made this coffee numerous times, but always scale the ingredients down to make one serving, plus I make this with an instant coffee. The coffee I used was YUBAN 100% Arabica, which is a double strength instant coffee, and I'll add a 1-1/2 measuring teaspoonful to a tall coffee mug, besides the 8 ounces of water, then I'll nuke it in the microwave. Afterwards I add 3 tablespoons of chocolate syrup, an 1/8 teaspoon of vanilla extract, 1/16 teaspoon of the ground cinnamon, half a dash of the red pepper, a 1/4 cup of the half-and-half, and then top it off with a large dollop of Reddi Wip. In the past I have also topped the Reddi Wip with a light sprinkle of a Gourmet Hot Cocoa Mix (either Milk Chocolate or Belgian Dark Chocolate), as I didn't have any chocolate to make chocolate shavings. One other thing I wanted to mention, especially to those who are considering making this coffee for the first time, that the red pepper added to this coffee, does tend to burn the back of the throat just a bit, so don't add more than what the recipe calls for. Other than that, I enjoyed the coffee. It surely is different from the coffees I usually make. Thanx for the recipe diner524.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      What a lovely coffee diner. I really enjoyed this treat. It had a lovely spicy mocha flavor with a kick. It was so quick and easy to make, that it could be dangerous. I can forsee myself enjoying these often, way too often. Thanks so much for sharing another winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      oh this was sooo good! I've never been to the Brampton Inn, but this coffee was heavenly. Made for Potluck Tag Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      I scaled this down to serve one and added about 1/8 tsp cayenne...I loved the zing from the pepper..this would be hard to even detect if you didn't know it was there...a lovely decadent coffee drink. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      Very good, loved the slightly spicy chocolatey flavor. Halved the recipe, but still used a good dash of cayenne. Used the microwave to heat and skipped the whipped cream. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Wonderful! This reminded me of Mexican Chocolate. Perfect for breakfast with a piece of pan dulce. I was timid at first in adding the red pepper, but added more and more! This really is a treat - Thank you Diner and Annacia for bringing it to my attention in the game BEST of 2009!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      Oh my goodness, Dream coffee deluxe. This is totally wonderful. I made it for dessert and used our 24th anniversary cups. I'll be honest and let you know that I added the pepper after putting the coffee into the cups and only in mine (I wanted him to remain smiling and happy). This was a true pleasure that we both greatly enjoyed in out different versions. Thanks for posting it :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      I really enjoyed the kick from the pepper in this! It was just what I need for a late afternoon pick me up after a long day of work. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      OMG! Just tried this. This is a great eye opener! Those of you who just can not wakeup, this will do the job! Wake up! Try this and get moving!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

    • on February 11, 2009

      A very nice mix of flavors! I did add some sugar to sweeten my coffee. I halved the recipe for one. Thanks Diner! Made for New Kids on the Block game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hearts Afire Coffee

    Serving Size: 1 (350 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.6
     
    Calories from Fat 93
    43%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 22.7 mg
    7%
    Sodium 161.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 13.4 g
    53%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes