Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Heart-Healthy Oven "fried" Fish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Heart-Healthy Oven "fried" Fish

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 30, 2011

      I used orange roughy - awesome dinner! The fish cooked perfectly. I actually "breaded" the fish and refrigerated it for about 15 minutes before cooking it, as my side dish wasn't cooking fast enough. I'm not sure if this added anything to the recipe or not, but either way, this one is a keeper. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

      Wonderful recipe. I left out the celery salt and the red pepper. I dipped the entire piece of fish in the egg whites and then into the crumb mixture. Sprayed the baking pan with cooking spary and then I baked it at 450 for 20 minutes and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2012

      A very pantry friendly recipe. Like others I used orange roughy and I must say this was
      very delicious. This is the first time I tried oven fried fish and I am happy I did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      Delicious! I used Orange Roughy, and substituted Italian Seasoning for the Celery Salt (didn%u2019t have any) and it was delicious!! The crunch was great, and it was so easy and fast! The Fiancé who is picky and doesn%u2019t really love fish, ate every bite! And he wants it again! It felt like a treat and I really enjoyed it! I am on Weight Watchers, and it%u2019s VERY low points, gotta love that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Very tasty. The fish came out nice and tender. I used Tilapia. I cut the recipe in half and used egg beaters instead of the egg whites. This is so easy to prepare. I love that it's good for you. It's a keeper. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      A nice alternative to all those mayo-based oven "fried" fish recipes. I followed the recipe almost exactly (which is somewhat rare for me), except I subbed celery seed for celery salt, because that's what we had, and also adjusted the baking time to mesh with the sides I was serving. After mixing the canola oil into the dry ingredients, I thought it would make it easy to pour and spread it out on a paper plate to coat the fish. Well, after brushing them with the egg white wash, it did make it easier, but what REALLY helped was to first put the egg white-washed fish in my PAM-sprayed baking dish and fold the paper plate in half and pour the crumb mixture on top of the fish. Then, I could pat down as much topping mixture as I needed on each piece. It wasn't a mess, and it all got used. Taking Marsha D.'s advice, I baked at 425 for 20 minutes, and they came out great (I liked the tiny bite in my mouth from the ground red pepper). Okay, this review is long enough. :) Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Pretty good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      Really good flavour - bit of a bite! I used sole fillets. I wasn't quite sure what "ground red pepper" was so I used chipotle powder. My husband doesn't eat fish so I used the coating on a boneless skinless chicken breast for him & he really enjoyed it, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      I loved this recipe! The breading was perfect. The flavor of the celery salt really stood out. I did change the directions a bit. I baked my fish at 425' for 20 minutes and instead of adding the oil to the bread crumbs and seasoning, I just added olive oil to the baking dish I was baking the fillets in. Turned out fabulous! had a little crunch even :) Thanks so much for sharing this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      I used Orange Roughy for this recipe and it was soo good and healthy. There was no celery salt in the house so I used dried celery flakes. Yes, I am going to make this again. Thanks Bone Man for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      Very nice! We loved the coating and the red pepper/celery salt gave it a little bite. I used basa fillets and canola oil. I will be making this again, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      I have made a few oven fried fish recipes, and this is the only one that I have come across that I don't think needs improvement. Very Good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Heart-Healthy Oven "fried" Fish

    Serving Size: 1 (143 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 198.6
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    22%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 62.3 mg
    20%
    Sodium 203.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 28.1 g
    56%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes