12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used orange roughy - awesome dinner! The fish cooked perfectly. I actually "breaded" the fish and refrigerated it for about 15 minutes before cooking it, as my side dish wasn't cooking fast enough. I'm not sure if this added anything to the recipe or not, but either way, this one is a keeper. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghan at Food.com March 30, 2011

Wonderful recipe. I left out the celery salt and the red pepper. I dipped the entire piece of fish in the egg whites and then into the crumb mixture. Sprayed the baking pan with cooking spary and then I baked it at 450 for 20 minutes and it was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doods March 16, 2014

A very pantry friendly recipe. Like others I used orange roughy and I must say this was
very delicious. This is the first time I tried oven fried fish and I am happy I did!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YumYum2122 April 24, 2012

Delicious! I used Orange Roughy, and substituted Italian Seasoning for the Celery Salt (didn%u2019t have any) and it was delicious!! The crunch was great, and it was so easy and fast! The Fiancé who is picky and doesn%u2019t really love fish, ate every bite! And he wants it again! It felt like a treat and I really enjoyed it! I am on Weight Watchers, and it%u2019s VERY low points, gotta love that!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loving2CookHealthy April 12, 2011

Very tasty. The fish came out nice and tender. I used Tilapia. I cut the recipe in half and used egg beaters instead of the egg whites. This is so easy to prepare. I love that it's good for you. It's a keeper. Thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas May 27, 2010

A nice alternative to all those mayo-based oven "fried" fish recipes. I followed the recipe almost exactly (which is somewhat rare for me), except I subbed celery seed for celery salt, because that's what we had, and also adjusted the baking time to mesh with the sides I was serving. After mixing the canola oil into the dry ingredients, I thought it would make it easy to pour and spread it out on a paper plate to coat the fish. Well, after brushing them with the egg white wash, it did make it easier, but what REALLY helped was to first put the egg white-washed fish in my PAM-sprayed baking dish and fold the paper plate in half and pour the crumb mixture on top of the fish. Then, I could pat down as much topping mixture as I needed on each piece. It wasn't a mess, and it all got used. Taking Marsha D.'s advice, I baked at 425 for 20 minutes, and they came out great (I liked the tiny bite in my mouth from the ground red pepper). Okay, this review is long enough. :) Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 March 03, 2009

Pretty good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrVanilla February 12, 2009

Really good flavour - bit of a bite! I used sole fillets. I wasn't quite sure what "ground red pepper" was so I used chipotle powder. My husband doesn't eat fish so I used the coating on a boneless skinless chicken breast for him & he really enjoyed it, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb November 17, 2008

I loved this recipe! The breading was perfect. The flavor of the celery salt really stood out. I did change the directions a bit. I baked my fish at 425' for 20 minutes and instead of adding the oil to the bread crumbs and seasoning, I just added olive oil to the baking dish I was baking the fillets in. Turned out fabulous! had a little crunch even :) Thanks so much for sharing this delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. October 16, 2008

I used Orange Roughy for this recipe and it was soo good and healthy. There was no celery salt in the house so I used dried celery flakes. Yes, I am going to make this again. Thanks Bone Man for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
huf155 November 25, 2007
Heart-Healthy Oven "fried" Fish