Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Heart Healthy Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Heart Healthy Muffins

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2010

      these are beyond fabulous and healthy to boot!! I shredded lemon peel on the top-yummy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      This recipe is a keeper. I was looking for a healthy muffin to take to work for breakfast. This is a very moist muffin and very delicious. I did not have soy milk so I used skim milk. I love the fact that they are so good for you and taste good too!! UPDATE: These muffins freeze wonderfully. After thawing out they are just as good as when first made. I love this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      My husband initially wouldn't try them when he saw what I had put in them. After trying them, however, he could not stop eating them. These are moist, flavorful and delicious. A keeper for us!
      UPDATE 1/10/12: Still enjoying these little beauties just as written. I usually double the batch and freeze some for future mornings. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      These were good. I used golden raisins and left out the nuts. Also instead of oat bran which I couldn't find I used 1/8 c of each the flax, wheat, and white flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      These delights tasted like mini-carrot cakes! My DH pointed that out so I made a basic butter/vanilla/powdered sugar frosting for some of them and served them as cupcakes for dessert! They were great. My only changes were: I used golden raisins, cow's milk, egg substitute and only 1/2 c. nuts. Using my changes, these muffins are 2 pts. each on WW.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      Really enjoyed these. Made them vegan by eliminating the egg. I considered not using the egg replacement, since flax is also an egg substitute, but didn't want to risk the structure and ended up using about 1 1/2 Ener G Egg replacer. I used coconut instead of raisins as that was what I had, and made into a loaf instead of muffins. Baking time was right at 40 minutes or so - I took them out when the bread looked set up in the middle. Only had a handful of nuts - it did need the full amount as they added nice crunch. All in all I really liked this bread and my 1 and 3 year olds ate it too - which is ALWAYS a treat for me when they eat something good for them. I called it 'cake' when I gave it to them. : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      It's been a long while since I made muffins and I've made these 2x this week! I don't have pastry flour, oat bran or flax seed meal, so I used only plain flour and wheatgerm bran instead. I used half the sugar because the soya milk is sweetend and they turned out great. Today I used apple sauce (instead of apples), bananas instead of carrots and coconut instead of raisins...Ate one already but really it needed to sit a while first. Tastes great though! Only thing is, with no oil added, it sticks to the paper cups a bit. Still, it's good to know you're eating a healthy snack :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      I wasnt hopeful for this recipe at all! when i put the muffins in the pan i thought they didnt look like they would work ! But they rose well and they are so soft and light. The textures really great ! Thank you so much for making a healthy snack :D Thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      I apologize if my review appears twice, I'm having issues with the review box. 2 stars for healthiness, otherwise bland, too salty, texture of something papery? I followed this recipe almost exactly with the exception of reducing the sugar to 3/4 cup. If I were to try it again obviously I would cut the salt, but can't think of a way to save these. The raisins are what will keep them in my freezer for consumption, sorry guys I was not a fan! Have tried similar recipes in the past with much success. I lost my favourite recipe and have been searching for a suitable replacement. This was not it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      Excellent muffins! My daughter and I made these last night and I must say they are the best I have had in a long time. Wonderful flavor and texture. I used regular all-purpose flour, whole wheat flour and skim milk instead of unbleached, pastry and soy and it worked just fine. I also cut the brown sugar and the nuts (pecans) to 3/4 cup each and increased the raisins to 3/4 cup, just based on personal preference. I'm sure the recipe is perfect just as posted too! I will definitely make again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      Delicious! I substituted a 1/4c of the brown sugar with honey and used 4 egg whites instead of 2 whole eggs. I also cubed the apples. I am so happy to have such a healthy muffin that has protein and fiber. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      These were great! I've been looking for a recipe like this for awhile, and am so glad to have finally found one! I had to leave out the carrots, raisens and nuts because I didn't have any, but substituted zucchini, along with the apple, which I chunked instead of shredded. I also used regular Vit D milk as I was out of Soy. They came together wonderfully, baked wonderfully, and ate even better. My kids loved them and I think I will make a habit of having these ready for busy school mornings. Thanks for posting a great healthy idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      This muffin recipe is exactly what I was looking for! The apples, carrots, and nuts really make it filling and wholesome. I reduced the brown sugar by 1/4 cup and substituted honey for it. These muffins are outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2006

      Fantastic recipe. I've made it a couple of times and it has worked out amazing each time. I've been using 1/4 cup buckwheat honey and 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of the 1/2 cup brown sugar. I've also tried adding lemon zest and that gave it a nice zing. Another time I added blueberries and that worked well also. Definitely a great and healthy recipe worth trying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2006

      Incredible muffins that just happen to be healthy. I was a bit skeptical about the lack of fat but they come out moist, tender and light. Full of good for you ingredients. I omitted the nuts, only because my group doesn't eat them, and got 20 muffins. I make a LOT of muffins to freeze for breakfast and these are definitely a new favorite. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2005

      Oh, my goodness! I love this recipe. I am not rating it because I didn't follow the recipe as written. I had been looking for a banana muffin recipe, and when I saw this, I knew I wanted to try to adapt it. I subbed wheat germ for the oat bran, and three large mashed bananas in place of the apples. I left out the raisins, and for the nuts, I used very finely chopped (or coarsely ground)almonds. Everything else I did as the original recipe calls for. This yielded 18 large muffins, and WOW--were they ever good! Moist, not at all dense, and full of flavor! MMMMM Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2004

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Heart Healthy Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1631 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 143.9
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    33%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 177.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 11.5 g
    46%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes