Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Heart-healthy Apple Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Heart-healthy Apple Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 21, 2009

      We really enjoyed this cake! I love that it uses whole wheat flour but that the taste from it doesn't overwhelm the cake. I ended up using closer to 2 cups of apples and unfortunately I had to omit the nuts but that would have made this even more delicious! I also used 1/2 cup of Splenda with 1/4 cup of sugar to help reduce the calories and sugars. I did dust the bottom of the pan with a tablespoon of sugar & cinnamon mix. By the way, with my brands and very slight alterations this comes to 2 WW points per piece. I should mention that the cake mix was VERY thick. I was a little bit concerned but it came out very nicely. It's moist, dense, and delicious! I think that next time I might mix in some oats to the topping mixture, which I had meant to do this time! Thanks for this wonderful recipe. It's definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      smelled great & easy to put together!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      Delightful! Made me a hit with my in-laws! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      This cake is scrumptious! I love the fact that something so delicious can be so good for you too! I used another reviewer's suggestion for the topping and used oats in place of the nuts, simply because DH is not a big fan of nuts in/on his cake. I also omitted the nuts from the cake and used extra apple. Yummy! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      These were so delicious and moist! Everyone loved the brown sugar topping and I love that it's so heart-healthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

    • on August 08, 2007

      Yumm! I have been trying new and healthy recipes for my boys to eat for snacks. This is a wonderful treat with the apples, walnuts, applesauce, and wheat flour. I used 1 egg instead of liquid egg since I don't use substitute foods. Turned out beautifully. I changed the topping to make it a little healthier too. I used 2 Tbs. wheat flour (no white), 1/4 cup quick oats in place of the walnuts and only 2 TBS of brown sugar. The topping turned out perfectly. Thanks for an excellent coffee cake/snack/dessert (ooh, won't this be good with a little vanilla ice cream!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      I just brought these into work for the guys to eat up and they all love it! It's all smiles around here this morning that's for sure. This is a great recipe for a healthy coffee cake, everyone in my office thanks you Barb. Ps. I substituted spelt flour for all purpose, and splenda for sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      Excellent! Made this for my parents who are diabetics! Used walnuts, empire apples, splenda in place of white sugar and just enough brown sugar to make the topping come together nicely. Tasted moist & wonderful! Thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2004

      Moist and wonderful! I used the new Splenda baking mix for the white sugar. Washed and cored the apples leaving the skin. I think next go, I'll try reducing the brown sugar in the topping a bit. As I said, moist and wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Heart-healthy Apple Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (72 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 217.9
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    29%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 3.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 197.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 22.5 g
    90%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fat-free liquid egg product

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites