Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthy Whole Wheat Pita Bread (No Oil or Sugar) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthy Whole Wheat Pita Bread (No Oil or Sugar)

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on August 22, 2010

      I've been making this pita bread for over a year. Have adapted it a bit, but it was the step by step method that brought immediate success. I bake a batch weekly using 3.5 cups King Arthur White Whole Wheat flour. I make 8 pita breads. To store, once cool, divide them into 2 gallon size freezer bags and store them in the freezer. I remove the amount I need shortly before using and find they defrost quickly and are as fresh and pliable as when first from the oven.

      A word of caution, any pinching of the edges of the raw dough will hinder the puffing process, so be very careful when moving them from the resting position to the baking tray. And be sure the oven is really hot before baking.

      I rest the dough between tea towels for the 30 min rise and then slide my hand under the tea towel to move the rounds onto the baking sheet, flipping them over as I do that. The end product is almost picture perfect (most times). But even an odd shape doesn't affect the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      Oh my goodness, these pitas are fabulous - and the recipe is so easy! I do admit I changed the mixing order - I let the yeast & water get foamy together, then added in the flour & salt. I didn't get very much flour into my batch - less than 3 cups, but it was cleaning the sides of the bowl, so I stopped. They rolled easily, were easy to turn over before baking, and it was very handy to leave them right on the baking sheet to bake. (I've always baked on a pre-heated stone before and had to transfer them.) 5 minutes in the oven was perfect and they puffed up like crazy. I put them in a covered bowl to steam while they cooled. The taste and texture are out of this world. I can't thank you enough for this great and healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      I also took the advise to use less flour and my pitas turned out great. They puffed right up and are chewy and yummy! My advise is to not forget to turn the pitas over before putting them into the oven--they will not puff up into a pocket if you don't.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfect !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      I was a little worried about these before I made them, because I knew I'd have to make them without a mixer, but it all worked out great regardless! I halved the recipe, and ended up making 4 pitas. I only needed to use 1 1/2 cups of flour, and I added some paprika and Italian seasoning. They puffed up in the oven just as promised! Wonderful recipe, thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      I used white whole wheat flour and added chopped fresh rosemary, dipped it in homemade eggplant hummus and it was wonderful. I don't have the equipment to bake at 500 degrees in the oven so I cooked them in a frying pan with a bit of canola oil for a couple minutes on each side, removing them right after they puffed up. Yumm...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2014

      The simpler the better. Fewer ingredients. Even salt is an extra useless ingredient. Why add extras that have no use. I think the key is to use water that is almost 130 F and not to handle the dough that much. Mine pop up in the oven. So happy I wont need to buy pita bread any more. The one I used to buy had a preservative that now I am free of it. It took over an hour to go out and shop for pita bread at the groceries that sometimes they did not even have it. But now I make them in less time that going out and buying it. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2014

      These are delicious, and so economical ! I used 3 cups whole wheat flour & 1 cup AP flour, and 1 packet rapid rise yeast. I put a dollop of honey into the warm water with the yeast to give it some food. I did use a generous 1/2 teaspoon salt in with the flour - I feel bread tastes too "flat" without salt. I read the other reviews, and decided to use 1 1/2 cups water to start with, and I ended up adding a little more than that so I could use all 4 cups flour. I ended up with 16 breads, 2 oz. each (I weighed the dough on a baker's scale). They puffed up nicely while baking, and I put them under a tea towel when they came out of the oven, and pressed them gently to flatten. I froze half of the pitas, and ate the first half within 2 or 3 days. We used them for snacks, with hummus, as hamburger buns, and stuffed with eggs and spinach for breakfast. I tried toasting one to warm it up, and it puffed back up inside the toaster! LOL! I had to use wooden tongs pull it out! I love the nutty warm flavor of the whole wheat, and a little white flour gives it a nice soft texture. Thanks for my new go-to pita recipe! <br/>By the way, here's a kitchen hint for you: I use a 18" length of 1 1/2" diameter PVC plumbing pipe as a rolling pin. It's almost non-stick, it goes through the dishwasher, it's lightweight, and it's cheap!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2014

      Very simple and tasty. I ended up using 2 c whole wheat flour and 1 c white flour. Freeze well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      Best pita I have ever made or had. I used white whole wheat flour for 2 c. and 1 c. white flour. Didn't take the four cups as stated. Loved them fresh with Curried Cranberry Chicken Salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      Very good. I used 3 cups KA white whole wheat flour. I did add about 2 tsp honey to warm water and added the yeast to that and let it get foamy before mixing into the flour and salt (because that is how I have always done regular pitas). I have found kneading the dough at this point is good. Let rise and it easily doubled. It made 6 balls of dough for me for 6 to 7 inch pitas. I let the balls rise again while the oven heats. Rolled out GREAT (way easier than white flour ones). Puffed fine. My mistake was stacking them too soon! The bottom one got a little soggy so it is not going to pocket well. My very last one did not puff but I think that was because I took a little chunk off one to add to it to equal out the size. If you can pinch those off the dough ball as one piece then you get puff. Roll out even. Oven has to be 500, it really does or you won't get puff (even with regular wheat ones). I usually then freeze my pitas in baggies when they are cooled. They thaw out terrific. Once I get used to this recipe, am pretty confident they will be as good for pocket salads as the white ones. (Oh, and be careful not to pinch edges once you roll out. I think that also keeps them from puffing. and my cooking time is about 3:30 to 4 min at most).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      Great!!! So glad i made my own pita instead of going to the store. They came out great! Athough i did add a little olive oil!! Will make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      They did puff, but they didn't puff apart into two layers like I'd hoped. I think this recipe would make a fabulous pizza dough, but it didn't taste particularly pita-y to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      We like these a lot. Make sure to eat them quickly as they do go bad within a few days!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Fantastic pita recipe. Since we live in the tropics, I tend to go Middle Eastern/Mediterranean for Xmas dinner. These were perfect. If you have a convection oven you won't need 5 minutes, but 4 minutes tops.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      I had trouble with this recipe, but it's probably me more than the recipe. The pita did poof, but it didn't in any way separate in the middle, so it was sort of like a flat biscuit. Taste was great, but I think maybe my yeast is the problem. I'll try it again later with a new batch and see if it's just baker error still. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      This is my third pita recipe trying, having no luck whatsoever with the past two. Let me say...amazing! I gave it four stars because I tweaked it a bit. I let the yeast foam in the water for about 10 minutes with 1 tbsp sugar first, then added the flour. I needed about 1/4 c extra water. I kneaded it on the counter for about 5 minutes, until i got a somewhat decent gluten window. I let the dough rise covered in oiled plastic for about 15 minutes in the sun. When I rolled out the pitas, I let them rest for about 5 minutes, then followed the cooking instructions. Wonderful! My first pita-puffing has been achieved!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      These were great. I have never been a fan of pita bread but this one was great and I'll make it again. I made Mediterranean White Bean and Tuna Salad and didn't want to serve just regular old bread with it. I'm glad I found this recipe. I followed the instruction exactly. I used 'King Arthur's *White* Whole Wheat Flour'; it's not as heavy as the regular whole wheat flour. Mine didn't form a pocket, even though I turned them before putting them in the oven. But that wasn't a big deal. I just cut one. Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      Followed the recipe exactly, but they only puffed up a little. Tried baking some on a rack on top of the pan and they puffed up perfectly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      After those......I don't think i'll be eating anything else for breakfast. Thanks loads chef Annisette.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthy Whole Wheat Pita Bread (No Oil or Sugar)

    Serving Size: 1 (791 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 167.1
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    94%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.0 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites