Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthy Vegan Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthy Vegan Chili

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 13, 2003

      This is an exceptional recipe! I normally prefer chili with BITE, but this recipe is SO EASY and FLAVORFUL that it is a crowd pleaser! I am not Vegan, nor are the crowds I serve it to, but I have had no complaints on this chili to date and with the TVP, no one even realizes they aren't eating meat! :) Also great on the pocketbook if making chili in quantity. It only takes about $0.45 worth of TVP...way better than the price of ground meat. I have customized it to my preferences...Methods are the same, but here is the ingredient list I use... 1/2 can Veggie Broth 1 c. TVP 1 Onion 1/2 each Gr, Orange, Yellow & Red Bell Peppers 4 cloves Garlic, Minced 1 1/2 can Veggie Broth 1 can Great Norther Beans 1 can Kidney Beans 2 cans Stewed Tomatoes w/Onion/Celery/Pepper 3.5 T Chili Powder 3 T Paprika 1 T Oregano 1 T Cumin 1 t Cayenne 1/2 t White Pepper Salt Pepper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2012

      Very good recipe thanks! I used quinoa in place of tvp and it turned out fab. Even my non vegan bf liked it with a little soy cheese melted on top :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2012

      Tweaked this recipe a bit, mostly to add heat, but overall this is a great recipe. The fresh corn really makes a difference. Freezes wonderfully, so it's a great way to enjoy fresh summer veggies during chili season. Even my husband and son, both of whom consider a slab of meat to be a "meal," rave about this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2012

      fantastic! Husband said, "I'm having a hard time telling it's not real meat". We're on a vegan diet for 4 weeks trying to get his cholesterol level down. I doubled the TVP which made it more like real chili to us and used dry beans instead of canned, soaking them overnight, then cooking them on the stove for 2 hours, doing a quick drain and adding to the chili. Other than that, I followed the recipe to the T. Delicious. Thanks, Moody.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      This was incredibly delicious and very easy to make! I left out the cayenne and only used about 1/2 t of chili powder, because I am a chicken of spicy foods. It was so yummy! I know I will make it again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      Overall, a pretty good chili recipe. It was quick and easy to put together. I wasn't sure whether or not to drain the beans, in the end, I didn't and it was a little soupy and beany tasting. I added an extra 1/2 cup of TVP to help thicken it as well as some nutritional yeast and tomato paste. I left out the corn, added 1/2 tsp of cayenne in addition to the jalapeno to help with the heat though I probably could have upped quantities of both. Definitely better as it sits, I would make this again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      So colorful...really as the saying goes that one eats with the eyes first...this chili is a feast for the eye- !!! a treat visually and for the tongue and tummy as well (palette & pallet!! :)...A wonderful blend of peppers...(use the jalapeno!!!!-for me in a "chili" that is not "optional" but A MUST!!!-{{but that's me:) }} - a lovely mix of sweet and spice...I used a fabulous bouquet of beans (black, pink, white and dark red!!! ) the TVP lends excellent texture with no grease to cloud the beautiful picture...I added extra garlic, cumin, oregano and LOTS of CHIPOTLE :)- I served it over a bed of couscous and baby spinach... Filling & Fantastic - Thanks Moody :) - a five star FAV!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      Very good. I did not have the TVP on hand and so I just left that out. I also did not add the jalapeno but perhaps I should have. I felt that it could have used a little more spice and a little more zip. I will definitely make this again and just play around a bit with the spices. Very glad that there are left overs available for the rest of the week. Thanks Moody!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      Neither my husband nor myself are vegan but we wanted to try to eat a little healthier. My husband ate all of these leftovers so fast he wants another batch made only 5 days after the first! This chili is delicious! We substituted tofu crumbles for the TVP and added a little more spice but the rest is just perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2007

      I (and even my two non-veggie roomies) loved this recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2005

      Outstanding! Followed the recipe to a T and it tasted great. I wouldn't change it too much. See my other reviews if you are looking for healthy recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2004

      This was very good, but a pretty standard vegetarian chili. I was excited to try out TVP, but among the beans and all the veggies, I didn't even notice it. I, like Cornelia, didn't use all the colored peppers- I did add a little carrot and some celery. I used about 2 1/2 cans equivalent of cooked black beans, cannellini beans and red beans. Lovely colors- nice flavors- overall, a good recipe to make your standard veggie chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2004

      This was really good, and easy to make too. I halved the recipe and got 4 servings out of it. I didn't bother using 4 different colours of peppers, and I left out the optional jalapeno. I served with low fat cornbread, and it was delicious! I love an easy, healthy, hearty meal like this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthy Vegan Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 94.5
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    94%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 174.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    textured vegetable protein

    beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites