Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthy Substitute for Cream of Chicken Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthy Substitute for Cream of Chicken Soup

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-53 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2006

      This turned out pretty good but I would have liked it a little thicker. Made my recipe a little watery. Not sure I'll use it again, not because of the taste but the texture of the final result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      I made a batch up, but used homemade low sodium bouillon (it contains nutritional yeast for flavor). I also added 2 Tbl of home dried chopped white mushrooms. After making it up and doing a test run of one can worth, I decided it needed about 2 more Tbl of the bullion added to the master mix. Otherwise great mix! It works well for doing backpacking meals, and lets me stay on my low sodium diet. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      Easy to make and very tasty. I first mixed together the powder milk, cornstarch and bouillon granules, and processed it in my blender to make a nice fine powder- then I added the seasonings. Thanks for the newest addition to my pantry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2006

      Great recipie, for those on low sodium, when comparing the sodium on store bought cream of soups, and this I use it often. IT has allowed me to add alot of my old recipies back to our now low sodium diets, Thanks for posting...its absolutely wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      I'm using this recipe to sub for the soup called for in the Cracker Barrel Old Store Hash Brown Casserole recipe to help reduce the calories and fat. My many thanks, and from my mom, too. It has become a tradition to go to Cracker Barrel when we visit each other and that is a "must have". When she comes to Colorado to visit, I'm going to serve her this as a part of a special brunch in her honor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      Cheap, easy and you have everything you need in the cupboard. I used this to make a soup that needed a can of cream of chicken and it was just fine. I need to remember it for the future--I'm sure there are a lot of places this can be substituted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2005

    • on September 13, 2005

      What a wonderful thing to have in your pantry for emergencies or every day use! I needed cream of chicken soup and had none. This recipe allowed me to make a favorite recipe in a jam. I love it and plan on giving the recipe to everyone in my family. Thank you for saving the day and posting this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2005

      Used this in a chicken and dumplings dish, worked great. Don't use any boullion that aren't low sodium it will be to salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2005

      I tried this once and now it is a staple in my cupboard. I used it in a crockpot pork chop recipe that called for canned cream of chicken soup. It turned out great and it is so much better for you. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2004

      This worked just great in Crockpot Chicken & Dumplings #98017. I made a half batch and will use it whenever I need canned cream of chicken soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2004

      I needed some cream of chicken soup for a dish I was preparing, Stovetop Macaroni and Cheese with Tomatoes Stove Top Macaroni and Cheese With Tomatoes and found I didn't have any. Typed in a search and here I am. It worked just fine. I guess you can say I kicked the can.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2003

      This works very well. I finally got around to trying it out once I got the granules. Thanks for this recipe. It will go into my perm. file, and I will use it when I want to try any creamy dishes that call for that :-O canned stuff! hehe Thanks again!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthy Substitute for Cream of Chicken Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (349 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 212.5
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    48%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 8.0 mg
    2%
    Sodium 215.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 21.4 g
    85%
    Protein 14.6 g
    29%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-sodium instant chicken bouillon granules

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes