53 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I doubled this and it worked out to 13 ziplock baggies with 1/3 cup of mix each. The only thing I did differently is I omitted the chicken bouillon granules at first, and then added 1/2 tsp to each bag after separated. I only did this to further cut down on sodium. I made up a serving today for a casserole and it tasted great! Thanks for such a great and healthy alternative!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kyhenderson06 August 04, 2013

This worked out beautifully for me. So glad I finally tried it. However, for our family's own preferences, I won't be adding the thyme to future batches. Not that I didn't like the flavor, just that the thyme didn't really go well with the Asian flavor of the dish I was making. Think I'll leave it out and add to separate dishes as needed. Thanks so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charlie #5 January 04, 2009

This was awesome! I was halfway into making dinner when I realized the can of cream of chicken soup I thought was in the pantry had been used. Zaar saved me a trip to the store. It worked absolutely great. The only thing I will probably change next time is they thyme because I discovered my family doesn't particularly care for it. I will definitely be using this instead of the expensive & unhealthy canned versions.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faeanne October 02, 2008

I prefer not to have the canned stuff so this is a great alternative. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buffalo Gal 75 November 28, 2010

This was not good at all, sorry. I found it to be inedible. There are a number of similar recipes for this on food.com to which this review applies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raspberry Cordial October 26, 2010

Oh, terrific stuff. I used it in some little shrimp pot pies for my freezer, which I haven't had in ages because the recipes all seem to want canned soup and/or heavy cream. This has solved that dilemma for me in a big way. Zippy and flavorful, and totally convenient to mix together. Thanks a ton, Mille.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin R. June 15, 2010

This is GREAT! I had to use regular milk, fresh sauteed onions and chicken soup base as subs, but I will be trying the recipe as is when I gather the ingredients. It'll be so nice to have this on hand. This is so much better than canned. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Holly-O March 16, 2010

Another great item to have that I got from the Zaar! Cream of chicken is N/A here so this is really a life and time saver! I used it in a corn chowder instead of the milk. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia January 20, 2010

Used this in a casserole and did not reconstitute it first. Great to know it is better for us and still gives that flavor needed in such things. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mapaklenk July 04, 2009

I thought I had a can of cream of chicken soup and I was making Crustless Chicken Pot Pie. I made this up and used it. It had a good taste to it but it was rather thin. I have the remaining mix so will play with it a bit next time I need it for a recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol May 05, 2009
Healthy Substitute for Cream of Chicken Soup