Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthy Sourdough Whole Grain Waffles and Pancakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthy Sourdough Whole Grain Waffles and Pancakes

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on November 14, 2009

      These were great and simple to make. I used a mixture of flaxseed meal and wheat bran for the whole grain flour portion. I doubled the whole recipe so used 1/4 cup flaxseed meal and 3/4 cup wheat bran. The waffles were light, healthy, and no grainy taste. Very good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2012

      Awesome! My husband and I made this batter with my wild yeast starter and whole wheat flour, and the pancakes turned out amazingly tasty...fluffy yet crispy! We let it sit for maybe 15 or 20 minutes rather than the longer recommended time (we were hungry) but they turned out delicious anyway!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      Always looking for recipes to use that sourdough starter, I stumbled across this recipe. These are the best waffles my husband and I have ever eaten! I use a Belgian waffle iron; the waffles came out fluffy on the inside and nice and crispy on the outside. This wonderful recipe has just replaced all my other waffle recipes and is now our favorite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      Oh it drives me CRAZY how good these are. I used whole wheat flour and oat bran, water, and subbed 1 tablespoon of applesauce for half the oil. I also haven't been able to get my starter very sour yet (maybe it's not old enough), so I put in 1/8 teaspoon of sour salt. I got four gorgeous waffles out of this recipe, and since I'm the only one who will eat them (husb doesn't like ANYTHING), I'll have some left over to toast for breakfasts the next few days. Thanks for a definite repeater, Rosieo.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      If I could rate this recipe less than one star, I would. First, the consistency is way off. I understand that the consistency of your sourdough starter is going to influence how thin or thick your batter will be...this was horribly runny. I had to add almost half a cup of additional flour to make it waffle batter consistency. The final product was dry and tasted like cardboard. I have made other sourdough waffles before that were excellent - I'll never make this recipe again. Don't waste your time and ingredients on it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      Great waffles! I only let them sit for 1 hour yet they turned out great. Served with chokecherry syrup (I made last summer) and sausage patties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      Awesome waffles! I've recently started learning sourdough, and wanted to do something with the discards. I used a whole wheat starter, whole wheat, spelt, & millet flour, wheat germ and flaxseed. I also added vanilla and ground almonds. My husband and I always prefer nuts in our waffles and pancakes - almonds, walnuts, pecans give such a good flavor. I tripled the batch (downsizing from a great big mother starter to a tiny one), and will see how well they freeze.

      I was surprised at how light these waffles were, not heavy and dense like some whole grain waffles can be. We will be making these often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2011

      These were great. We just had them for supper! My sweet husband said we should keep this! Added blueberries and lemon oil in 1/2 the batch and cinnamon, pineapple and raisins in the other 1/2! Looking forward to replacing our broken waffle maker so we can use this for waffles! Thank you so much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      We've eaten these every weekend for a month now! I add chopped walnuts. YUM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      These are very good. I used a combination of the whole wheat flour and wheat bran. These are nice and crisp on the outside and very tender on the inside. They were topped off with warmed maple syrup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      Pancakes are NOT a favorite in our house, but I have some whole wheat sourdough starter that needed to be used, and I was too lazy to drag out the waffle iron from the back of the cupboard, so I decided to make this as pancakes. I let the first mixture rest about 6 hours. I used buckwheat flour as the other whole grain flour, since I had plenty on hand and I do favor buckwheat pancakes when I have some. Using my trusty cast iron frying pan, which I accidentally got a little too hot (and it's slow to cool down), I had to flip the pancakes before they had lost the gloss on top, but they flipped OK anyway. The only changes I made to the recipe were due to my low sodium diet -- I left out the salt and used low sodium baking soda. My baking soda was lumpy but I didn't realize that until I'd already added it; and it didn't blend in well. So the first two pancakes had little white bits of baking soda in them (which was unappealing although it didn't taste bad). By the next batch it had dissolved better and I stirred it up really well and that problem was solved. My verdict on this recipe is that it is really great! I might even become a pancake lover with this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthy Sourdough Whole Grain Waffles and Pancakes

    Serving Size: 1 (110 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 247.8
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    41%
    Total Fat 11.3 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 62.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 624.1 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites