Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthy Sesame Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthy Sesame Chicken

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2011

      I didn't quiiiiiite follow the recipe because I was out of sesame seeds & sesame oil and there were some major storms going on so running to the store was not an option... but I DID have peanut butter!!!! And for that substitute I am rating this recipe with a million huge gold shiny stars!!!!! I doubled the sauce ingredients and instead of the oil and seeds, mixed in 1 tbsp of chunky peanut butter and my Sunday Night Dinner girls RAVED.. as did my taste buds. Definitely making this one again. DEFinitely!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      Great little dish, the only change I made was to halve the sugar (due to diabetic concerns) but otherwise left as was and we really loved it. Would even suggest if cutting the chicken into nugget (one bit size) pieces you could serve this as an appertizer in a bowl and pass around with some toothpicks for people to take a piece. This time I served with steamed vegetables but next time I will serve with fried rice and steamed vegetable. Thank you txghog, made for Healthy Choices ABC.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      Not as good as high calorie recipes, but all enjoyed this healthy version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      Awesome! I made this with pork instead of chicken. I cooked the pork in coconut oil then made the sauce. I also added 1 TBSP. of peanut butter to the sauce and a little bit of coconut oil in the sauce instead of sesame oil. The family loved it. My kids, who don't eat anything, raved about it. This is a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      AMAZING!!! I have 4 kids and we ate this with chop sticks, they had a blast. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2013

      Super yummy!<br/>So tasty, makes the chicken really tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      I tried this recipe with my family, i didn't add chives but i did serve the chicken over rice with asparagus and salad on the side . they LOVED it, i LOVED it . Definetly a keeper. My boyfriends' dad hates rice but he actually really enjoyed the meal. 5 STARS all the way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      This is absolutely delicious and tastes like chinese restaurant. I did use slightly more sesame oil than recipe calls for. For a side I sauteed onion, garlic, mushrooms, zucchini, green pepper. Delicious! I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2012

      This was really easy to make and delicious! A definite keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2012

      Very good, easy recipe!!! I doubled the soya sauce and used 1/3 cup of sugar. Added sliced red peppers to the chicken. I didn't have sesame seeds, so I added a tablesppon of peanut butter to the sauce. Served over basmatti rice and side of green beans. Delicious! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      To quote my dh - "It could NOT have been any better!!!" My 5 yr old said it was like PF Chang's! For the crispy texture my dh likes I sprayed the pan ALOT with Pam and added some olive oil to cook the chicken. Everything else just like the recipe! Great taste and healthy - unbelievable! I'd give 10 stars if I could!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2011

      So good and so easy! This will be a repeat when I am short on time. Did not use chives and doubled the sauce because I am always worried there is not enough but I did not need to because then I had way to much sauce. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      This was good, I enjoyed it and although the kids said they didnt really like it they still ate it (they are super picky). I look forward to the leftovers tomorrow for lunch and will make this again.
      I took your suggestion in the description and added a pinch of red pepper flakes. I originally tried to half the sugar but when I tasted it I decided to add the rest.
      Served it with rice and steamed snow pease.
      Thank you!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      WOW! This was great. It deserves a 10.

      I halved the sugar because I'm diabetic, but I didn't even notice. We ate it with brown rice and Sugar Snap peas with carrots. I will be making this again and again. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      Thanks for this recipe! My DH "thinks" he doesn't like chinese and he needs to eat healthier, so I didn't tell him about either attribute of this recipe. Worked like a charm. Not only do I personally love this recipe, but he is aso raving about it to others. His adult daughter just looked at me and smiled. It is now in our favorites list and it is SO easy! There have not been any postings on this from what I can see, so maybe this will help push along a really good recipe.Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      This was so good. I am trying to lose weight so I was looking for a healthier version of this. This was it!! My girls said this was better that the other that I used to make and it's better for us all. Thank you so much for this!! I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      THANK YOU for this recipe! It was a breeze to make, and delicious! I doubled the amount of soy sauce and boiled some broccoli on the side. When the broccoli was just about al dente, I and tossed it in with the chicken. Served with jasmine rice, and it satisfied my craving for Chinese food without making my feel guilty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Delicious and easy! I browned my chicken in about 1 TB of canola oil and only used 1/4 tsp of sesame oil as it is very strong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      My husband was a bigger fan of this than I was. I think next time I will make it without coating the chicken and with less sesame oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      This is a fabulous recipe. It is quick and easy and my husband loves it! I added veggies to make the meal go further and I used a bit less sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthy Sesame Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 250.7
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    21%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 814.2 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 12.7 g
    51%
    Protein 27.4 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites