32 Reviews

I've made this pie crust several times now and will keep using it. I substituted unflavored COCONUT MILK for the milk and it came out great. I rolled the dough between two sheets of non-stick parchment paper and had no trouble. I didn't even have to refrigerate the dough first. It was quick and easy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CooknChia August 22, 2013

I have used this recipe many times, and just now remembered to review it! Love it, but we cut the salt. I never take the time to chill and roll; just pat in the pan for a nice bottom crust. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CheapThrills May 05, 2009

Worked out great! Although I used olive oil...will use this recipe again for when I make Chicken Pot Pie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers April 27, 2009

Great, didn't change a thing. I used the chill and roll b/t two sheets of cling wrap and it rolled out perfect! The pickiest eater in my family couldn't stop talking about this crust. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildblu3 March 08, 2009

I made this with soy milk because I can't drink regular milk. I didn't have any problems rolling it out after refrigerating the dough for an hour. This crust is more brittle than ones made with shortening or butter and reminds me of a very light shortbread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirugai January 22, 2009

I found this pie crust to be difficult to work with. It was flaky, as was mentioned in the caption, but I had to use more milk than the recipe called for so that it didn't come apart. However, I made this crust for a chicken pot pie, and I think it made the pie! It was delicious. It goes to show you that a little patience pays off. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starrynight March 29, 2003

Flakey, butter, and soo good. I make this all the time when I make chicken pot pie and it's a hit everytime. A little hard to work with and roll out but is better when chilled a bit. This is my go to recipe everytime :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace J. July 30, 2015

This worked out way better then i thought, i did what other reviewers suggested and placed it in the fridge for half an hour or so and had no problems rolling it out, i also placed 1tsp of sugar and 1tsp cinnamon because i was making a banana cream pie. I will be using this for my pie crust from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
claaaiiirrreeee August 19, 2012

Came out pretty good but doesn't act like your usual pie crust.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peachyopal June 09, 2010

I cut this recipe in half for use with a ham and spinach quiche (#147160 here). I didn't even attempt to roll out the crust, and instead just pressed it with my fingers into the pie plate. Baked it for a bit at 375 to set it before filling with the quiche. I'll definitely be using this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin R. May 17, 2010
Healthy Pie Crust