Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthy Pie Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthy Pie Crust

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on May 05, 2009

      I have used this recipe many times, and just now remembered to review it! Love it, but we cut the salt. I never take the time to chill and roll; just pat in the pan for a nice bottom crust. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      Worked out great! Although I used olive oil...will use this recipe again for when I make Chicken Pot Pie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      Great, didn't change a thing. I used the chill and roll b/t two sheets of cling wrap and it rolled out perfect! The pickiest eater in my family couldn't stop talking about this crust. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      I made this with soy milk because I can't drink regular milk. I didn't have any problems rolling it out after refrigerating the dough for an hour. This crust is more brittle than ones made with shortening or butter and reminds me of a very light shortbread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2003

      I found this pie crust to be difficult to work with. It was flaky, as was mentioned in the caption, but I had to use more milk than the recipe called for so that it didn't come apart. However, I made this crust for a chicken pot pie, and I think it made the pie! It was delicious. It goes to show you that a little patience pays off. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2013

      I've made this pie crust several times now and will keep using it. I substituted unflavored COCONUT MILK for the milk and it came out great. I rolled the dough between two sheets of non-stick parchment paper and had no trouble. I didn't even have to refrigerate the dough first. It was quick and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      This worked out way better then i thought, i did what other reviewers suggested and placed it in the fridge for half an hour or so and had no problems rolling it out, i also placed 1tsp of sugar and 1tsp cinnamon because i was making a banana cream pie. I will be using this for my pie crust from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      Came out pretty good but doesn't act like your usual pie crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      I cut this recipe in half for use with a ham and spinach quiche (#147160 here). I didn't even attempt to roll out the crust, and instead just pressed it with my fingers into the pie plate. Baked it for a bit at 375 to set it before filling with the quiche. I'll definitely be using this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      This was really an amazing crust. No, it's not your typical butter-flaky crust, but it was quite good. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour, and 1/2 white flour, plus I added 1 T vinegar for flavor. I did have to add quite a bit more milk, and rolled it between wax papers, but it was pretty easy to work with. I made Recipezaar #45070 Pot Pie, but used beef instead of turkey , and it was awesome!! Thanks for the healthy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      This was fantastic! I usually use a lard/hot water crust for my awesome apple pie, but recently I've been trying to find healthy alternatives. This did the trick! The crust came out crumbly and perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      I love it!! I use less salt and add sugar instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      Quick and easy to make. Loved the taste thanks a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      Worked Great! Easy, fast and tasty. I cannot ask for a better recipe than this. It's almost as easy as frozen pie crusts, only I don't have to remember to buy a box keep in the freezer. I divided the dough into two parts. Rolled each into a ball, put each ball between parchment paper and rolled out. Great recipe. The second time I made this I substituted the flour with King Arthur's White Whole Wheat flour and it tasted great. Kind of nutty. However, the dough was more difficult to work with. Next time I may just do half four and half whole wheat flour. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      I truly could not get the crust to stay together, even though I tried freezing it. It just flaked apart during rolling and the pie looked a mess! I guess there's no free lunch :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I've made this twice for beef pot pie. It goes together really well, and I use wheat flour and applesauce (instead of the oil). It turns out great, but hard to handle in the raw form. Freezing helped. Overall, I like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      Best pie crust ever! I would add that I roll the flattened and floured dough halves out onto a floured surface and then loosen with a spatula and slip one of those extra thin plastic cutting boards under it and then slide the crusts right into the pie pans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      It was the first pie i have ever made and it turned out.... WOW!!! My whole family who has been eating pies there whole life said it was the BEST PIE they have ever eaten. I did whole wheat flour instead and i added cin. and sugar on the top which made it even better!! Thanks a TON!!! Happy Thanksgiving!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      I cut this recipe in half because I didn't need a top crust. Also took the advice of another member to roll between 2 pieces of parchment. Before that I lightly mixed the ingredients until corse then refridgerated for an hour. I highly recommend putting it in the fridge, it makes it so much better to roll. Made Yummy Crunchy Caramel Apple Pie for the filling, minus the FINAL TOPPING of pecans and caramel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      This was my first attempt at pie crust, which I was making for a quiche. I knew it was going to be hard to roll, so I just went ahead and used my finger to press it into the pie plate in pieces after rolling it out to get it to the right thickness. It worked really well and the crust did come out flaky. My only real complaint was that it was much too salty for me. Next time I would cut the salt to 1/2 tsp. It did get better after a couple of days in the fridge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthy Pie Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (546 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1231.1
     
    Calories from Fat 671
    54%
    Total Fat 74.6 g
    114%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 0.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1190.0 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 121.5 g
    40%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 17.7 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites