48 Reviews

Definitely dry and I added extra applesauce and raisins....recipe is OK...needs a bit more moisture.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nicolezambrano March 03, 2012

i have to say this recipe is awesome! i wanted to bake my very first oatmeal raisen cookies from scratch... when i googled for a healthy oatmeal raisen cookies, this recipe was the one that stayed with me and was indeed successful! thank you janselstad!!! it was simple and perfect =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
becksincharge November 26, 2011

These cookies are more like chewy granola bars. My kids were not convinced they were even cookie. They are very healthy though and since I am committed to becoming more health-conscious (and loose a few pounds) I wanted to try a new recipe for cookies. They are very chewy, almost rubbery. Not sure if I did something wrong, but I would probably make them next time as granola bars but adding more fruit to the mix. As for cookies, I think I will keep looking for a recipe that tastes more like a traditional junk food cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lemhawaii March 08, 2011

The best oatmeal raisin cookie I have ever tried. I did substitute 1/2 cup of the flour for 1/4 cup wheat germ and 1/4 cup ground flax seed, but awesome just the same!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dodes74 January 24, 2011

Yum, yum, yum. These really are very good. They are dense, moist and have a great texture from the oats. I did make a few changes on the basis of what some reviewers said; substituted 1/4 cup of the apple sauce for butter (so 1/4 cup of butter, 1/2 cup of apple sauce), left out the raisins and used chopped dried apricots instead, and added some chopped 70% cocoa dark chocolate. The result was a healthy and filling bisuit with plenty of flavour that will keep you satisfied if eaten as a mid-afternoon snack. There are endless variations that could be made on these, it's such a versatile recipe. Thank you for solving my bad snacking problem! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooty_Cat July 13, 2010

These are the best healthiest oatmeal cookies around. They are like the ones Whole Foods sells for 1.69 each!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
btburke June 13, 2010

What a lovely recipe! My grandmother would have called these "tea cakes" instead of cookies. Soft & dense. I used one whole egg, 1 cup of whole wheat pastry flour & 1/2 cup stone-ground wheat flour, and substituted dates for the raisins. If you use a scoop for dropping, make sure to flatten them just a bit as they don't spread very much (if at all). I have just had a brainstorm of ideas for this recipe...mashed banana for the applesauce, adding a bit of orange or lemon rind, almond flavoring and almonds......I better go buy some more oatmeal ; )! Thanks so much for sharing~~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef FBF April 24, 2010

I recently made these for a friend. They were really good! Softer and chewy, the only change I will make is in the spices. I felt the cookies needed an extra "umph." which I think they will get from just a dash of ground cloves. Recipe's a keeper! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wineaux April 02, 2010

The texture of these cookies makes it hard for me to give more stars. The flavor is pretty good, though. I didn't know what to expect because I've NEVER tried a "healthy" cookie recipe before. So maybe the texture is something that comes with the territory?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laughing in the Kitchen March 25, 2010

These were decent cookies for being so healthy. I'm not big on sweets, but am trying to get my husband to lower his cholesterol and he enjoyed these. I made them exactly as indicated, (though my raisins were "golden") for *PAC Fall 2008*. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) January 31, 2010
Healthy Oatmeal/Raisin Cookies