46 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These cookies are more like chewy granola bars. My kids were not convinced they were even cookie. They are very healthy though and since I am committed to becoming more health-conscious (and loose a few pounds) I wanted to try a new recipe for cookies. They are very chewy, almost rubbery. Not sure if I did something wrong, but I would probably make them next time as granola bars but adding more fruit to the mix. As for cookies, I think I will keep looking for a recipe that tastes more like a traditional junk food cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lemhawaii March 08, 2011

The best oatmeal raisin cookie I have ever tried. I did substitute 1/2 cup of the flour for 1/4 cup wheat germ and 1/4 cup ground flax seed, but awesome just the same!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dodes74 January 24, 2011

Yum, yum, yum. These really are very good. They are dense, moist and have a great texture from the oats. I did make a few changes on the basis of what some reviewers said; substituted 1/4 cup of the apple sauce for butter (so 1/4 cup of butter, 1/2 cup of apple sauce), left out the raisins and used chopped dried apricots instead, and added some chopped 70% cocoa dark chocolate. The result was a healthy and filling bisuit with plenty of flavour that will keep you satisfied if eaten as a mid-afternoon snack. There are endless variations that could be made on these, it's such a versatile recipe. Thank you for solving my bad snacking problem! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooty_Cat July 14, 2010

These are the best healthiest oatmeal cookies around. They are like the ones Whole Foods sells for 1.69 each!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
btburke June 13, 2010

What a lovely recipe! My grandmother would have called these "tea cakes" instead of cookies. Soft & dense. I used one whole egg, 1 cup of whole wheat pastry flour & 1/2 cup stone-ground wheat flour, and substituted dates for the raisins. If you use a scoop for dropping, make sure to flatten them just a bit as they don't spread very much (if at all). I have just had a brainstorm of ideas for this recipe...mashed banana for the applesauce, adding a bit of orange or lemon rind, almond flavoring and almonds......I better go buy some more oatmeal ; )! Thanks so much for sharing~~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef FBF April 24, 2010

I recently made these for a friend. They were really good! Softer and chewy, the only change I will make is in the spices. I felt the cookies needed an extra "umph." which I think they will get from just a dash of ground cloves. Recipe's a keeper! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wineaux April 02, 2010

The texture of these cookies makes it hard for me to give more stars. The flavor is pretty good, though. I didn't know what to expect because I've NEVER tried a "healthy" cookie recipe before. So maybe the texture is something that comes with the territory?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laughing in the Kitchen March 25, 2010

These were decent cookies for being so healthy. I'm not big on sweets, but am trying to get my husband to lower his cholesterol and he enjoyed these. I made them exactly as indicated, (though my raisins were "golden") for *PAC Fall 2008*. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) January 31, 2010

These are a great snack I don't mind feeding my kids after school. Thay aren't traditional at all, but a really good, healthy alternative to high fat, high sugar cookies, etc. I added some ground flax, craisens and dark chocolate. I can see these cookies being a staple in our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Monica* January 29, 2010

Goood Cookies! I also did a whole egg, and forgot to add the baking soda! I also added a Tbsp of ground flax seeds which contributed to the denseness of the cookies, and a dropper full of steevia to add some sweetness. A cookie or two for a snack would fill me up. Hubby liked them, too, and he's the big cookie eater in this household. I'll be sure and make these again, maybe using dried cranberries, chopped figs, and/or some dark chocolate shavings. Thanks for sharing a healthy recipe for snack, dessert or even breakfast on the run.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Granny Moses January 17, 2010
Healthy Oatmeal/Raisin Cookies