11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! I substituted canola oil for coconut oil, I hope that's still good for you! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laura.shurrock February 12, 2015

Great recipe! I made as directed, and even my husband loved them! They are not sweet at all, but pancake syrup is sooo sweet that we didn't mind this. I can't say they are as fluffy as normal pancakes- just a little bit heavier. But not bad, and I wouldn't even say they taste "healthy". Probably because they are not low-fat...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn November 28, 2013

I used 1/2 egg substitute, half olive oil and half applesauce, and added one tsp splenda. I enjoyed the apple cinnamon flavor. This made 9 medium large pancakes for us. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amylsimpson January 09, 2010

In an attempt to eat a little healthier, I insisted that we stray from our normal pancake recipe and try something new! Boy! Am I glad we did! These pancakes were very fluffy and we loved the addition of the cinnamon! I used a 1/2 cup Egg Beaters and substituted applesauce for the oil. (Thanks for the idea, Chef Schellies!) These pancakes were not quite sweet enough for our tastes. Next time I will take another reviewer's advice and add some Splenda. Thanks, Deb, for helping us to eat better and enjoy it! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnieLynne October 09, 2008

Loved this recipe!! I used sweetened applesauce instead of oil, added about 3 packets of Splenda, and a little more cinnamon than it called for--- I followed the recipe to a T but after mixing it all, I found it a little thin (maybe due to the applesauce?) so I added maybe 1/3 cup more wheat flour. Made the pancakes with a 1/4 cup scoop and had enough for 13. DH came in and said, "Mmmm... smells like apples and cinnamon in here!" I served this with Blueberry sauce http://www.recipezaar.com/94214 and some light cool whip on top. DELICIOUS! Hubby ate his with pancake syrup-- said they were awesome and would definitely want them again. Thanks for a healthy and filling recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrandNewJen June 10, 2008

I felt these needed some sugar, both to help them brown better and to give them a little more flavor. I used a scant 1/4 cup of brown sugar (I could have probably used even a little less). Once I did that, they were delicious! I may try using applesauce instead of the oil next time and then leaving out the sugar. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Schellies March 12, 2007

I didn't like these too well, but my boys did! I cooked them and put them in the freezer, and they've been eating them for breakfast for weeks now. Great recipe for kids!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers July 31, 2006

These were SO good. As I try to stay away from white flour, I subbed it with whole wheat pastry flour & it worked fine. Added more cinn & Splenda & ground up the oats. used applesauce for the oil, too. Very delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS April 04, 2006

I used old fashion oats which I whirled a few seconds in the blender before adding to the batter. I increased the cinnamon a little and found that after the batter sat for a few minutes it thickened up and made wonderful healthy pancakes. I used 1/3 cup of batter per pancake instead of the recommended 1/4 cup and the yield was 14.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG March 20, 2006
Healthy Oatmeal Pancakes