167 Reviews

These were great! so quick and easy and flexible. And for those of you with kids with nut allergies I made this with sunflower seed butter and they are yummy! Also - I didn't have quick cooking oats so I used "old fashioned" and they still were good! (didn't use wheat germ b/c we didn't have any but did use flaxseed meal). Easier and probably more nutritious than homemade granola bars!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KM from Boston September 15, 2010

I just whipped these out in five minutes, and I can tell they are going to become one of my favorites to make and eat. I used creamy all-natural peanut butter, and skipped the flax. I didn't measure anything and they've come out perfect. Thanks for the recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
perennialtiles June 06, 2010

These are very good. I'm one of those people who likes a little something sweet after a meal and these healthy, flavorful little gems are perfect. The whole family likes them, though some aren't huge fans of the texture. Thanks for posting. I plan on making these regularly.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenpalombi December 16, 2012

So, I've been making these cookies about 3x a week since I came across it a few months ago. I have tinkered with the recipe to ease up the calorie count and have made some decisions regarding this recipe...

First, I know other reviewers have subbed old-fashioned oats for quick-cooking but I've done it several times and it always leads to a gross, cardboard texture so I make a point to stick with quick-cooking or instant. Secondly, I've tried using Splenda for the cookies but it makes for a salty & unedible cookie so I use regular sugar. I have subbed reduced fat pb for regular pb with no problems, and also have used Nutella in place of the peanut butter (or by using half pb, half Nutella.) I prefer dutched-cocoa powder (better chocolate-y taste) to natural cocoa (almost no chocolate flavor.) And I almost always put them in the freezer for 10 minutes to set up quickly because I am in a hurry to eat them :) I've shared this with friends who are also trying to watch their weight so thanks for a great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AJ_Seattle April 29, 2012

Made as written and was extremely disappointed. You can really taste the bitterness of the cocoa powder and I probably would have liked the original that only had a teaspoon of it. Will not bother trying again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS May 23, 2011

OMG!! I never write reviews but I had to on this one. IT IS AWESOME!! Followed it to the T, and they came out amazing! My easy, healthy, cookie for life!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelleschneck September 16, 2010

Yum!
i made a double batch, did 1/3c sugar and 3tbs honey. i used flax but didnt have any wheat germ.
they are delicious! i subbed soy milk as well. good hearty healthy snack that curbs my sweet cravings. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amandamarievth June 27, 2012

Out standing cookies!!! I made a slight adjustment and used almond milk and smuckers peanut butter and Bob's Red Mill oatmeal.......great!!!! Thanks.....

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
David Healthy Eating April 25, 2012

Quick and delicious! I am lactose intolerant so made with soy milk instead of skim, came out great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kcyr18 February 14, 2012

Thanks so much for this recipe,it is just what I needed.I am on a low calorie,low fat diet and had a sweet craving that this satisfied.I did change it tho,omitted the wheat germ and flax.I only used 1 tsp cocoa,in place of sugar I used 3 packets sweet n low.I added 1/4 c dried cranberry's and used 2 packets of instant oatmeal along with the milk and p'nut butter.These are great.I made only 6 medium size cookies and with changes I have no idea of calories or fat.Can't be too much.I will use this one over and over adding what is on hand probably but sticking to the main ingredients.Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nesbitt929 January 22, 2012
Healthy No Bake Cookies