14 Reviews

I love ground turkey and am dieting so made this last night for dinner.Dh said it was bland,he missed chopped onions and bell peppers which I could have added but I wanted to try this as written.It holds up really well with only 1 egg,that is the only change I made,besides not making the gravy.I was going to make it but he said he would not eat it without some kind of tomatoes in or on.I used catsup and diced tomatoes on the top.It was very good.Next time I will add the veggies to it as it is a good meatloaf with turkey.Thanks so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nesbitt929 January 23, 2012

Nervanna in meatloaf form! I normally reject any and all new meatloaf recipes, but this one will remain in my files permanently. Moist, flavorful, and very versatile. I did not use the gravy portion, but instead glazed one with a cumin catsup and left the other plain. I also used ground chicken breast, as I hate turkey. Extra slices were topped with bbq sauce, canned tomatoes & pepper jack, etc. I can't attest to how well if freezes; the leftovers didn't last long enough to find out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cowieluv November 06, 2011

A winner! No one knew that the meatballs contained turkey! And the spicing was very flavorful and just right. I didn't have any milk on hand so I substituted 1/2 cup tomato sauce and it was excellent! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
socholy December 06, 2009

I have made this meatloaf MANY times and can't believe I hadn't reviewed it! This is the only meatloaf I will make now. The essential ingredient is the turkey...it gives a firmness to the meatloaf that regular meatloaves lack...you know how they fall apart. Well, that lovely, healthy turkey keeps it moist & firm. I'm usually lazy & just make one giant loaf or two smaller loaves. (meatballs are labour intensive!) My kids ask for this one regularly! Thanks Deb!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise DS November 01, 2009

I've made this recipe 3 times since printing it out and I get great reviews. Twice I made just meatballs. They're great to have in the freezer for appetizers or with tomato sauce for dinner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Peacock December 31, 2006

Made this (making it work with the available soup mix packages in the house) and loved it! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmazander March 09, 2013

I made this recipe tonight - but used all lean ground beef -as that is what I had. I made it all into meatballs - about 50+ good sized meatballs. I made a gravy sauce with beef gravy and sour cream - served with mashed potatoes and brocolli.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixiesmom August 27, 2009

I used this recipe to make a whole lot of meatballs and froze them in batches for later use. I just used a bag of thawed meatballs to simmer in wizkid's Cream Sauce for Swedish Meatballs. So good! Thanks for this recipe Deb - I'll have to try your gravy soon :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee May 30, 2009

I cheated and just went with all lean ground beef, but I really appreciated being able to knock out two recipes at once. Such an incredible time saver! The meatloaf was excellent and the first one that my man has actually liked (no huge onions in it and no tomato sauce on top), and the meatballs came out of the freezer perfectly delicious. The gravy didn't quite come out as yummy as I hoped, but I think it might be because the coffee used was really, really strong. Still, that's easily adjusted to taste, and I'll be making this recipe again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie, Cooking August 18, 2007
Healthy Meatloaf & Meatballs With Gravy OAMC