Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Healthy Mashed Potatoes/Cauliflower Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthy Mashed Potatoes/Cauliflower

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on August 11, 2003

      These were yummy Ducky. I used low fat sour cream and a little butter and they satified my craving for mashed potatoes without the carbs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2003

      My dad loves these, 'cuz he is on the Atkin's Diet and he can have these.....he says they are even better than regular mash 'tators...but I have 2 say I like the original kind 'cuz I love potatoes...but these are good too...and a good sub. 4 him!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2003

      This recipe is very good. My husband loved it and he is very hard to please when it comes to food. I had just bought the cauliflower that morning and was going to steam it but then I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. I didn't have any half and half or sour cream so I just mashed it and gave it a bit of "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter" (doin the South Beach) a few sprinkles of seasoning and it was great. Will surely try it as posted next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2003

      These were yummy. Not really like mashed potatoes to me but a very good cauliflower dish! I used fat free natural yoghurt in mine as that's what I use in mashed potatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      Easy to make. Very Yummy and healthy. Used Fat Free Sour Cream and a little bit of butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      I was fully expecting this to taste like cauliflower, which I really don't like. It had surprisingly little cauliflower taste to it - I thought just a hint, my bf didn't notice any (but he likes cauliflower). The consistency was like mashed potatoes with too much milk/cream in it, so we're throwing around ideas to thicken it up slightly (like adding a small potato or something). I also found the dominant flavour was the sour cream, and while I like that, I'm thinking I'll try a bit of garlic and maybe some fresh herbs next time to round it out a bit. I gave it 5 stars because I was amazed how good it was, how little it tastes like cauliflower, and how many variations of it could be tried (such as adding other flavours, maybe a spoonful of salsa).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I used Smart Balance Light and Fat Free Sour Cream and these were fantastic... Next time I will double this. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      OMG! So yummy and super easy! I steamed the cauliflower in my steamer. Then I just tossed in unsalted butter and a bit of real sour cream and the ground pepper and salt, threw it all in the food processor and pulsed. Wow, super smooth, not too rich, just right and yummy! Will make this all the time now and will make with cheese too! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      I have to start by saying I am not one of those carb free people, I just want to try and add in healthy foods whenever possible. That being said I used equal parts cauliflower and potatoes to make a healthier dish and yum! I didnt use the nonfat sour cream since that isnt how I make my potatoes anyhow. I just added 1 tbsp butter and 1 tbsp margerine since it is lighter, and some low fat milk and spices and it was good to go. I could barely taste the cauliflower in it. I plan on using this idea from now on. I know potatoes are good for you in moderation so mixing them with cauliflower really doubles the benefit. Thanks for a great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      I wouldn't say they taste like mashed potatoes but we thought they were pretty good. I followed the recipe as written. I used the fat free half and half as my family isn't crazy about sour cream. I added some cheddar cheese and my family enjoyed this even more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      I just tried this recipe and it was great! I used 2 heads of cauliflower and 1 Tbs of butter and about 4-5 Tbs of half-and-half (just added as needed for consistency). I also added a small amount of garlic powder for taste and then shaved a little fresh parmesan on top. This recipe is definitely going down as one of my favorite staples!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      This was pretty good. I enjoyed it, but not everyone else did. Overall, it is pretty good and it is definitely healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      I love the flavor of this but could not get enough of the water out of the cauliflower. This makes it too mushy. Does anyone know the secret of draining the cauliflower.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2004

      I am giving this 4 stars from my daughters who thought it was quite good. I wouldn't say it was like mashed potatoes though..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2004

      Quite tasty! I scaled the recipe in half, used low fat sour cream & sprinkled the top with thin slices of green onion & a little reduced fat cheddar. Thanx Ducky!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2004

      These were great!- I used butter, heavy cream, s & p, cooked soft and pureed very fine in food processor- what's not to like! My diners all commented this was a nice change, and was visually appealing as well -snowy white- don't think it totally tasted like mashed potatoes- but a heavenly vegetable puree! I will try with low fat cream (keep the butter!), and I'm sure will still be great! 5 stars for an elegant dinner party addition!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2004

      I just thought this was so cool!!! What a great way to use up a cauliflower!!! A bit of parmesan cheese on top didn't do any harm either!! Thanks for the neat recipe Ducky.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2004

      This was very good. I used fat free sour cream and alittle bit of butter. We enjoyed it without feeling guilty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2004

      Great comfort food! I am on day 4 of Phase One in the South Beach and really having carb cravings. This tasty recipe helped to get those under control. I used I Can't Believe Its Not Butter spray (probably not a full 1 oz) and fat-free sour cream. I also stirred in some roasted garlic. This was some of the best cauliflower I have ever had. The texture wasn't as creamy as my mashed potatoes, but this truly is a good sub for mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2004

      If you're on the south beach diet,you can use the 'non-butter' butter (I can't believe it's butter)with the sour cream. Tasted more like the real thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthy Mashed Potatoes/Cauliflower

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 94.1
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    59%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.6 mg
    0%
    Sodium 116.0 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites