15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was an easy and delicious drink as thick and smooth as any milkshake. I was out of cardamom (darn the luck!), so I tried ground coriander...worked out pretty well. I also needed a little more sugar in mine than was called for. Char's serving portions are VERY generous and that this would make enough for four.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollypaul May 21, 2003

This is a wonderful recipe! Based on the other reviews, I made half of this recipe and got 2 1/2 large glasses out of it. Just enough for my husband, son, and I. I used 1/2 cup Greek yogurt and 1 cup plain yogurt and about 1/2 a bag of frozen mango. We all loved it! My 12 month old son couldn't get enough! He drank all of his (1/2 cup) and some of mine! Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilWubs June 11, 2010

This was great! I used frozen chopped mango so instead of fresh I used about half the bag, thawed and instead of ice cubes just threw in a few still-frozen pieces. The sugar and cardamom were just right; I was able to get about 3 and a half tall glasses. I omitted the mint due to not having any but I think it's great without it. A luscious tasting dessert without the calories and guilt!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the80srule February 21, 2010

This recipe produced about four tall glasses. I wanted to try making mango lassi after trying one at my favorite restaurant. This version wasn't as sweet (subbing vanilla yogurt might solve that) and I was never quite able to get the mango completely blended; there were still some fibers in the drink. This is a nice, mild drink.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renegade Chef November 05, 2009

Great recipe, and the cardamom is just right. Mango lassi without the cardamom just isn't mango lassi. Almost certainly those who say that the cardamom is too strong must be putting in 1 tablespoon of cardamom, instead of 1 TEASPOON, as in the the recipe. (Tigerduck mentioned that the cardamom overpowers, and then suggests that half a tablespoon of cardamom would be plenty) 1 teaspoon is the correct amount in this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy in a whirl July 30, 2009

love the cardamom but used far less, that stuff is strong! then I doubled the mango

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nwwulff July 22, 2008

It's good. Just make sure your mango is very ripe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
876229 July 11, 2008

Tastes just like the one I get from The Indian Oven!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mulligan May 25, 2008

What a disaster! I love Mango Lassi, so when I planned a dinner of palak paneer, chicken karahi, and roti (all from scratch and by hand- I even make and grind my own garam marsala); i though- Why not serve lassi? I got all the ingredients at my local Indian store. I followed the recipe, though I used only HALF the cardamom called for. The drink was very thin, yet stringy from the mango, very acidic/sour, and the cardamom was way overpowering! I added more sugar and mango and that stepped it up to "barely drinkable". This is nothing like the Mango Lassi we get at the restaurant where I take cooking classes. I'll have to ask them for the proper way to make this drink.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CelticBrewer April 20, 2008

This is yummy! I served this at my 30th birthday and everybody loved it. However, I've made a few changes. I used more sugar (probably double the amount) and slightly more water (both personal preferences). But the reason why I gave this four stars and not five is that I think that the stated amount of cardamom overpowers the mango flavour. I really love the cardamom in it, but I think 1/2 tablespoon in the lassi is plenty. Thank you for posting this recipe! I will have it again, but with less cardamom.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigerduck October 24, 2005
Healthy Mango Lassi