19 Reviews

Although these require a bit more work than I usually am willing to go through for a muffin, these are *so* good it's worth the extra time and effort! Some changes: Having no whole wheat flour, I used instead half all-purpose flour and half rice flour. I used Granny Smith apples, and grated them peel and all so as to give the muffins additional nutrition, color and texture. Also for additional nutrition, I added 3/4 cup of ground flaxseed along with the dry ingredients, and topped the muffins with chopped walnuts instead of sliced apples. All this made for a denser and not so low-fat muffin, but that's okay, since I prefer substantial muffins (I use them for breakfasts on the go, so I want them fairly filling), and the fats from the flax and walnuts are the heart-healthy kind that also provide lots of Omega-3. The next time I make these, I think I'll use brown sugar instead of the white -- or maybe half brown, half white -- for even more flavor. Thanks for a wonderful muffin in which the apple truly stands out. :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynne the Pirate Queen February 17, 2009

These muffins are amazing! I loved the healthy ingredients and the fact that the muffins were so moist. The texture was a little more dense than a typical muffin, but they were still wonderful! I did substitute Splenda (granular) for the sugar in the recipe to lower the calories some more. Thank you for sharing, LUv 2 BaKE! I will make these again soon!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnieLynne February 21, 2011

I made these last night as desert, and i had to make sure we left a couple over for school lunchboxes today :)... these are lovely in texture... i have tried many low fat muffins in the past that turned out like rocks... but these are sublime... also, as a diabetic, and I have thing for muffins, i could eat these without feeling guilty or doing much damage to my sugar levels... great recipe... thankyou

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kyrandia May 31, 2007

Wow, the flavor of these muffins was great! I was tired of my usual oatmeal breakfast and this did the trick. I made some change by using 1 cup of applesauce instead of grating apples, and only two egg whites (as I discovered the shortage in the fridge too late) but they were great regardless! They are a heavier muffin, but I kind of liked that; you really feel like you're eating something substantial. I also had to bake mine 36 minutes to get them done, but they were well worth it. Thanks for submitting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kindcook July 22, 2013

I made these muffins this morning before work and they were so easy and turned out great! I brought them to the office and they were gone in no time. I added 3 grated apples instead of 2 and changed it to brown sugar as well. I cooked them at 325 for 30 minutes exactly and they were perfect! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scafire-Jen February 28, 2012

There are a few things wrong with this recipe.... first, it says it makes 12, but it actually makes 24. Second, it says the prep time is 15 minutes, but with soaking the oats for 30 minutes and grating apple, it tends to be quite a bit more than that. Third, the baking powder is missing from the instructions (but not the ingredient list). I didn't realise I had left out the baking powder the first time I made them, and ended up with 24 little hockey pucks. I tried the recipe again with the baking powder, and it was a little better, but I still wouldn't make them again. They were chewy in the middle and needed baking longer than the recipe said. The flavour was nice though, and I liked that the oats were soaked in apple juice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeninbrighton February 24, 2008

The middle was a bit too moist and chewy for me. However, overall, it was tasty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Home Baked Honey September 25, 2007

These were great, are you sure they're low fat? I had some leftover egg whites to use so I halved the recipe. From a half batch I got 12 bite size muffins & 12 cup cake size muffins so it still went a long way. I decorated the tops with some dried apple pieces a little sprinkle of vanilla sugar. I really enjoyed these & so did my 20 mth old daughter, the rest are for playgroup tomorrow, if they last that long. (LOL)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** June 01, 2007

This is truly a delightful recipe!! I have been wanting to try these since they were brought to my attention by the "Healthy Choices Game" here on Zarr and now playing ZWT3 is a great opportunity to call these (and other recipes that have a healthier approach) to people's attention. These are an excellent example of how flavorful, rich, and moist low-fat can be. They are simple and straight forward to make (**note to Moms with "little helpers"; the kids seem to love watching the egg whites whip in to cream shape**) - I love the cinnamon, apple and oat combination and the placing of the slice of apple on top of the muffins gives them an added bit of taste and visual perk. LUv 2 BaKE, I love your muffins!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free May 28, 2007

i made 24 delisious muffins tnx for the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blagica P. February 14, 2014
Healthy Low Fat Apple and Oatmeal Muffins