91 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe. I like other users replaced the butter with 3 tablespoons of Vanilla Yogurt and cut the brown sugar and salt in half. I added a 1/2 cup of butterscotch chips. Yum! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brian48195 July 30, 2013

Great healthy recipe! I made some minor substitutions, but also great as is. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jewels5k July 09, 2013

I've made these twice this week after finding this recipe. Both times they turned out great. I followed the recipe exactly the first time, using pecans and dried cranberries for the add-ins. They were great and got eaten up fast. Today I made them again, substituting 1/4 c. natural peanut butter for the butter, and adding in pecans, dried cranberries and coconut. These were even better than the first batch. I like the soft but somewhat chewy texture, and that the cookies don't spread out like some oatmeal cookies do. In fact, after the first pan, I slightly flattened the cookies before baking. I used a little dough scoop to measure, and the first time I got 38 cookies and the second time I got 42. Not big cookies, which is fine with me because I like the bite size.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PamC June 10, 2013

Used coconut oil instead of butter and a gluten free flour mix. Added 1/2tsp of cinnamon and they turned out so great I almost ate the whole pan! My oven runs a little cool so I had to bake for closer to 13-14min (1tbsp sized cookies). Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ClairFBN April 16, 2013

This is the second time I made the this cookie. First time I followed the recipe step by step without any modification. Second time I made some changes by cutting down 1/4 sugar and honey, and added 1/4 cup of all natural peanut butter, 1 cup of nuts and cranberry, 1/4 cup of ground flaxseed. Both are amazingly delicious. Maybe the best and the healthiest oatmeal cookies I had. <br/>If this is the first time you are making this I notice the photos of the cookie show in this recipe are different from my baking after I follow the recipe. But the taste are still amazing. Also this recipe says it makes about 30 cookies which I find it hard to do, I can only make 22 cookies at max (about 2 tablespoon size for each cookie).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woopeefish April 11, 2013

This is a great cookie! I volunteer at a Christian Academy and made these cookies to share with the kids. They all loved them! I live in Costa Rica, so it's always very warm - I didn't get out the mixer but just let the butter come to room temp and used a spoon for the whole process. Easy!!! Like other reviewers, I did cut back on the brown sugar and only used about 1/4 cup - they were plenty sweet. However, I rolled the cookies in cinnamon sugar before placing on the cookie sheet and flattening slightly with a glass. Used raisins as the add-in. Next time, will try substituting half the honey with agave syrup and will use craisins instead of raisins. Thanks for posting such a versatile recipe - it's going in my favorites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori March 02, 2013

Delicious! I used coconut oil instead of butter. I added in craisins, sunflower seeds and flax seeds. They came out chewy with a crispy outside.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny February 16, 2013

These are the best Oatmeal Cookies I've ever made. I added cinnamon and raisins to the recipe. They are moist, delicately chewy, and flavorful. Thank you so much. Definitely 5 starts for this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoodEats! February 11, 2013

This is a wonderful recipe. Cookies come out crunchy yet not crumbly when cooled. I think this is the best healthy oatmeal cookie recipe I have found. Sweetness is perfect, texture is great if you are looking for slightly chewy and crunchy cookies.
I did make some changes though:

I used Gluten-free flour mix ( decreased flour by about 1-2 tablespoons and added extra baking soda) and Gluten free Oats.
I replaced half the butter with coconut oil ( because coconut oil is good for you)
I replaced half of the honey with dark agave ( because dark agave is yummy)
I replaced the egg ( because I didn't have any) with a flaxseed & water mixture- which works great as a binder if you don't have eggs.
I also suggest adding cinnamon and/or vanilla. I added both as well as some walnuts.

Thanks for posting thi. This will be my new go-to oatmeal cookie recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daisy1181 January 24, 2013

I made this cookie last night and I used agave and organic honey. I decided to use a splenda brown sugar blend with a just pinch of salt. Added cinnamon, some golden raisins along with a few diced apples. It definitely hit the spot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
curleysue2u February 17, 2012
Healthy Honey Oatmeal Cookies